The Architectural League Prize

Formerly known as Young Architects’ Forum

The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition organized by The Architectural League and its Young Architects and Designers Committee.

Open to designers ten years or less out of school, the competition draws entries from around North America. The winners’ lectures and installations provide a lively public forum for the discussion of their work and ideas.

Winners are chosen through a portfolio competition juried by distinguished architects, artists, and critics, including the Young Architects and Designers Committee. This committee, whose rotating membership consists of past League Prize honorees, is also responsible for selecting the year’s theme and jurors.

League Prize 2008: Resonance

Lonn Combs of EASTON+COMBS Architects
Mark Foster Gage of Gage/Clemenceau Architects
Ana Miljacki & Lee Moreau of PROJECT_
Ben Pell & Tate Overton of PellOverton
Xu Tiantian of DnA_Design and Architecture
Kathy Velikov & Geoffrey Thün of RVTR

League Prize 2007: Proof

Benjamin Aranda & Chris Lasch of Aranda/Lasch
Carlos Bedoya, Wonne Ickx, Victor Jaime, & Abel Perles of PRODUCTORA
Ivan Hernandez Quintela of ludens
Chaewon Kim & Beat Schenk of UNI
Dominic Leong, Jonathan Lott, & Brian Price of PARA
Jinhee Park of SINGLE speed DESIGN

League Prize 2006: Instability

Julie Beckman & Keith Kaseman of KBAS
David Benjamin & Soo-in Yang of The Living
Craig Borum & Karl Daubmann of PLY Architecture
Yansong Ma & Yosuke Hayano of MAD office
Julio Salcedo
Betsy & Shane Williamson of WilliamsonWilliamson

League Prize 2005: Situating

Tobias Armborst, Daniel D’Oca, Georgeen Theodore, & Christine Williams of Interboro
Dan Hisel
Greg Kochanowski of STUFF
Tiffany Lin & Mark Oldham of LOO
Stephen Roe & Chiafang Wu of ROEWUarchitecture
Mason White & Lola Sheppard of Lateral Architecture

League Prize 2004: If . . . Then

Gail Peter Borden of Borden Partnership
Tobias Lundquist of Miloby Ideasystem
Keith Mitnick, Mireille Roddier, & Stewart Hicks
Anthony Piermarini & Hansy Better Barraza of Studio Luz
Fernando Romero of LCM
Tom Wiscombe of Emergent

League Prize 2003: Inhabiting Identity

Stella Betts of Leven Betts Studio
Ben Checkwitch
Lisa Hsieh
Stephanie Forsythe & Todd MacAllen of Forsythe + MacAllen Design Associates 
Mike Latham of Arts Corporation
Steven Mankouche

League Prize 2002: Material Process

Jared Della Valle & Andrew Bernheimer of Della Valle + Bernheimer Design
Makram el-Kadi, Ziad Jamaleddine, & Naji Moujaes of L.E.F.T.
Elena Fernandez, Arnaud Descombes, Antoine Regnault, & David Serero of Degree Zero Architecture
Lisa Iwamoto & Craig Scott of IwamotoScott
Eric Liftin of MESH Architectures
J. Meejin Yoon

League Prize 2001: City Limits

Thaddeus Briner
Eric Bunge & Mimi Hoang of nARCHITECTS
Teddy Cruz
Petra Kempf
Chris Perry, David Erdman, Marcelyn Gow, & Ulrika Karlsson of SERVO
Eric Worcester

League Prize 2000: Second Nature

Minsuk Cho & James Slade of Cho Slade Architecture
Julia Czerniak
Jeremy Edmiston & Douglas Gauthier of SYSTEMarchitects
Anuradha Mathur & Dilip da Cunha
Rhett Russo
Terry Surjan

League Prize 1999: Scale

Sunil Bald & Yolande Daniels
Omar Khan & Laura Garófalo
Vrinda Khanna & Robert Schultz
Edward Mitchell
Douglas Pancoast
Shih-Fu Peng & Róisín Heneghan

League Prize Publications