Young Architects 22: Value

The 22nd in a series of books documenting the work of winners of The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers.

Young Architects 22: Value features work by the winners of the 2020 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers. The competition theme examined the meanings of value in contemporary architecture—a concept that spans “numbers, colors, measurement, worth, and ethics,” in the words of the theme statement.

Winners of the 2020 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers:

David Eskenazi, d.esk
Garrett Ricciardi and Julian Rose, Formlessfinder
Leslie Lok and Sasa Zivkovic, HANNAH
Isaac Michan Daniel, Michan Architecture
Ivi Diamantopoulou and Jaffer Kolb, New Affiliates
Luis Beltrán del Río García and Andrew Sosa Martínez, Vrtical

Anna Puigjaner, the author of the foreword, is an associate professor at Columbia GSAPP and a founding principal of the Barcelona-based practice MAIO. She received Harvard GSD’s Wheelwright Prize in 2016 and was nominated as a finalist in the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Initiative. She has previously taught at the Royal College of Art and the Barcelona School of Architecture. As an editor, she has run the magazine Quaderns d’Arquitectura i Urbanisme for the past six years. Puigjaner served on the 2020 League Prize jury.

Anne Rieselbach, the author of the introduction, is the program director of The Architectural League. For over thirty years Rieselbach has overseen the Current Work lecture series, the Emerging Voices program, and the Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers.

The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers is a juried portfolio competition organized around a yearly theme. Architects and designers based in North America and ten years or less out of a bachelor’s or master’s degree program are eligible. Work can be built or unbuilt and executed in any medium. The League Prize is the focus of an exhibition and lecture series as well as this volume. The list of over 200 past winners represents some of today’s leading architects and designers. Many also have earned positions of leadership in schools of architecture, or have shaped the architectural landscape through their guiding roles in public agencies. Select past winners include Steven Holl; Billie Tsien; Preston Scott Cohen; J. Meejin Yoon; Claire Weisz & Mark Yoes; Rick Joy; Sunil Bald & Yolande Daniels; Eric Bunge & Mimi Hoang; and Teddy Cruz. Recent winners include Frida Escobedo; Jenny Sabin; Dan Adams & Marie Adams; Neeraj Bhatia; Isabel Abascal & Alessandro Arienzo; and Bryony Roberts.