League Prize 2008: Resonance

League Prize 2008 logo

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

Architecture is a profession of ideas. But how do architectural ideas resonate beyond professional boundaries? The 2008 competition asked entrants to consider how architects’ ideas and acts take effect.

The winners included:

  • Lonn Combs of EASTON+COMBS Architects
  • Mark Foster Gage of Gage/Clemenceau Architects
  • Ana Miljacki & Lee Moreau of PROJECT_
  • Ben Pell & Tate Overton of PellOverton
  • Xu Tiantian of DnA_Design and Architecture
  • Kathy Velikov & Geoffrey Thün of RVTR

The year’s competition theme was developed by the 2008 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Julie Beckman, Chris Lasch, and Jonathan Lott.

The jury included Beckman, Lasch, and Lott, in addition to Karen Fairbanks, Jesse Reiser, Mark Robbins, and Calvin Tsao.

The competition is organized by The Architectural League’s program director, Anne Rieselbach.

More from past League Prize winners

Moving house

Dan Spiegel explores the complex relationship between design and domesticity.

The generic original

Clark Thenhaus tests form-making strategies by combining and recontextualizing standard geometries to produce unfamiliar forms.