The Architectural League Prize

Formerly known as Young Architects’ Forum

The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition organized by The Architectural League and its Young Architects and Designers Committee.

Open to designers ten years or less out of school, the competition draws entries from around North America. The winners’ lectures and installations provide a lively public forum for the discussion of their work and ideas.

Winners are chosen through a portfolio competition juried by distinguished architects, artists, and critics, including the Young Architects and Designers Committee. This committee, whose rotating membership consists of past League Prize honorees, is also responsible for selecting the year’s theme and jurors.

League Prize 2000: Second Nature

Minsuk Cho & James Slade of Cho Slade Architecture
Julia Czerniak
Jeremy Edmiston & Douglas Gauthier of SYSTEMarchitects
Anuradha Mathur & Dilip da Cunha
Rhett Russo
Terry Surjan

League Prize 1999: Scale

Sunil Bald & Yolande Daniels
Omar Khan & Laura Garófalo
Vrinda Khanna & Robert Schultz
Edward Mitchell
Douglas Pancoast
Shih-Fu Peng & Róisín Heneghan

League Prize 1996: Form

Marwan Al-Sayed & Janet Fink
Kadambari Baxi & Reinhold Martin
Stephen Cassell, Thomas Jenkinson & Adam Yarinsky of Architecture Research Office
Mehrdad Hadighi
Erik Hemingway
Rick Joy

League Prize 1995: Time

Joseph Krumpelmann
Laura Kurgan
John Nastasi
Kevin O’Brien
Michael Silver
Lisa Tilder & Stephen Turk
Mark Wamble

League Prize 1993: “12”

Victoria Casasco
Mark Goulthorpe & Yee Pin Tan
Alicia Imperiale & Darius Sollohub
Amy Landesburg & Lisa Quatrale
Michael Morris & Yoshiko Sato
John & Thomas Reistetter
Claire Weisz & Mark Yoes

League Prize 1992: On Hold

Yung-Ho Chang
Kevin Kennon & Peter Moore
Johannes Knoops
Scott Marble
Joe Mashburn
Peter Pelsinski & Marc Tsurumaki
Preston Scott Cohen

League Prize 1990: Out of Site

Janek Bielski
Francisco de Almaida, Scott deVere, Beth Weinstein, & Zanie Zainulabidin of Group of Four
Benjamin Gianni
Gisue & Mojgan Hariri
Neil Logan
Luke Lowings
Omar Perez & Georgia Daskalakis

League Prize 1989: Public Work

Ann Cederna & Douglas Frederick
Sheila Kennedy & Frano Violich
David Kessler, Tim Schollaert
John Randolph & Bruce Tomb
Tim Swischuk
Glenn Weiss & Peter Shinoda

League Prize Publications