Young Architects 20: Objective

The 20th in a series of books documenting the work of winners of The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers.

Young Architects 20: Objective features work by the winners of the 2018 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers. The competition theme, Objective, suggested that the topic “implies an action” and that “how we act, what our actions achieve, and how we argue for a design speak to our values as a discipline and as a society.” The winners’ work exemplifies the diverse ways young architects and designers are pursuing multiple “objectives,” from social, economic, and political agendas to material and structural experimentation that inspires innovative design at every scale. 

Winners of the 2018 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers: 

Anya Sirota, Akoaki
Bryony Roberts, Bryony Roberts Studio
Gabriel Cuéllar and Athar Mufreh, Cadaster
Coryn Kempster, Julia Jamrozik and Coryn Kempster
Dan Spiegel, SAW // Spiegel Aihara Workshop
Lap Chi Kwong and Alison Von Glinow, Kwong Von Glinow 

Claire Weisz, author of the foreword, is a founding partner of WXY. She served on the 2018 League Prize jury. 

Anne Rieselbach, author of the introduction, is program director of The Architectural League and has directed The Architectural League Prize program since 1987.

The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers is a juried portfolio competition organized around a yearly theme. Architects and designers ten years or less out of a bachelor’s or master’s degree program are eligible. Work can be built or unbuilt and executed in any medium. The League Prize is the focus of an exhibition and lecture series held in New York City, as well as this volume. The list of over 200 past winners represents some of today’s leading architects and designers. Many also have earned positions of leadership in schools of architecture, or have shaped the architectural landscape through their guiding roles in public agencies. Select past winners include Steven Holl; Billie Tsien; Preston Scott Cohen; J. Meejin Yoon; Claire Weisz and Mark Yoes; Rick Joy; Sunil Bald and Yolande Daniels; Eric Bunge and Mimi Hoang; Teddy Cruz; Frida Escobedo; Jenny Sabin; Dan Adams and Marie Adams; Neeraj Bhatia; and Isabel Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo.

The 2018 Prize winners, as a group, propose that the architect takes on a new role: activating the built environment. This mission goes beyond the performative aspects of architectural and spatial design, particularly sought after in recent years, by incorporating the idea that the structure supporting these aspects should be evocative, dynamic, or literally able to bend or move. —Claire Weisz, founding partner of WXY, 2018 jury member