League Prize 2002: Material Process

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

Architects are looking beyond the traditional boundaries of their discipline, appropriating materials, methods, and processes from other industries. This expanded interest is widening the scope of innovation, ranging from the development of alternative fabrication processes afforded by digital technologies to the inventive reuse of traditional materials. This year’s League Prize asked entrants to consider how these cross-cultural and multimedia processes are reshaping the way we synthesize technique and practice.

Winners included:

  • Jared Della Valle & Andrew Bernheimer of Della Valle + Bernheimer Design
  • Makram el-Kadi, Ziad Jamaleddine, & Naji Moujaes of L.E.F.T.
  • Elena Fernandez, Arnaud Descombes, Antoine Regnault, & David Serero of Degree Zero Architecture
  • Lisa Iwamoto & Craig Scott of IwamotoScott
  • Eric Liftin of MESH Architectures
  • J. Meejin Yoon

The Inhabiting Identity theme was developed by the 2002 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Thaddeus Briner, Mimi Hoang, and Chris Perry.

The competition jury included Paola Antonelli, Sheila Kennedy, Frank Lupo, Gregg Pasquarelli, and Tod Williams.

More from past League Prize winners

Separate, together

Working from two different locations, the founders of mcdowellespinosa take advantage of their “opposing, complementary viewpoints.”