League Prize 2013: Range

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

Young designers are diversifying their skills at a remarkable pace; studios often stand out more for their design approaches than for their realized work. The 2013 League Prize competition asked architects to consider the notion of range.

Winners included:

  • Luis Callejas of Lcla Office
  • Brandon Clifford & Wes McGee of Matter Design
  • Rafael Luna & Dongwoo Yim of PRAUD
  • Skylar J.E. Tibbits of SJET
  • Bryan Young of Young Projects

The competition theme was developed by the 2013 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Benjamin Aranda, Seung Teak Lee, and Michael Szivos.

The jury included Aranda, Lee, and Szivos, in addition to Teresita Fernandez, Paul Lewis, Thom Mayne, Charles Waldheim, and Meejin Yoon.

The competition is organized by The Architectural League’s program director, Anne Rieselbach.


Exhibition listing

More from past League Prize winners