Young Architects 18: (im)permanence

The 18th in a series of books documenting the work of winners of The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers

For over 35 years The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers has recognized outstanding and provocative work by up-and-coming North American architects and designers. The work can be built or unbuilt and executed in any medium. It is the focus of an exhibition and lecture series held in New York City, as well as this volume.

The list of over 200 past competition winning individuals and teams represents some of today’s leading architects and designers. Many also have earned positions of leadership in schools of architecture, or have shaped the architectural landscape through their guiding roles in public agencies.

Young Architects 18: (im)permanence features work by winners of the 2016 Architectural League Prize. The competition theme, “(im)permanence” asked entrants to consider the form and meaning of impermanence or permanence in their work.Projects by six winners respond to current aspects of society, economy, and policy, or invent systems of order that acknowledge the relationship of architecture to time.The book includes projects by the six winners of the 2016 League Prize:

Neeraj Bhatia, The Open Workshop
Yves de Fontenay and Hubert Pelletier, Pelletier de Fontenay
Aaron Forrest and Yasmin Vobis, Ultramoderne
Rania Ghosn and El Hadi Jazairy, DESIGN EARTH
Juan Alfonso Garduño Jardón, G3 Arquitectos
Mete Sonmez and Neyran Turan, NEMESTUDIO

“The work in Young Architects 18 critically situate the relative (im)permanence of architecture by proactively responding to the unstable conditions of their project contexts. The result is an inspiring call to action – with a renewed interest in the collective, mobilizing us to act on the environment.” — Mimi Hoang, nARCHITECTS