League Prize 2010: ReSource


Architectural practice relies on resources: disciplinary resources, such as theory and technique; physical resources, such as materials and production technologies; and practical resources, such as coordination, planning, and financing. However, recent global shifts – from the financial crisis to the environmental crisis – are demanding that architects and designers rethink their resources, producing new approaches, techniques, and even terminology within our discipline.

This call for entries asks: In what ways is our discipline proving itself resourceful in the face of these challenges?

2010 Winners:
Austin+Mergold (Jason Austin & Aleksandr Mergold), FAR frohn&rojas (Marc Frohn & Mario Rojas Toledo), Bittertang (Michael Loverich & Antonio Torres), ABRUZZO BODZIAK ARCHITECTS (Emily Abruzzo & Gerald Bodziak), ESKYIU (Eric Schuldenfrei & Marisa Yiu), PEG office of landscape + architecture (Keith VanDerSys)

2010 League Prize Committee:
Cristina Goberna, Jinhee Park, Ben Pell

2010 Jurors:
Matilda McQuaid, Billie Tsien, Dan Wood, Alejandro Zaera-Polo

Dornbracht-logo IBEX-RED-small-web SGLA-Logo Tischler-Logo_P
ARRA2 dca-logo NEA_Logo-smallBlack nysca_LOGO-rgb


League Prize 2009: Foresight

_ The Architectural League’s Young Architects Forum is an annual competition and series of lectures and exhibitions organized by the Architectural League and its Young Architects Committee. The Forum was established to recognize specific works of high quality and to encourage the exchange of…

League Prize 2008: Resonance

The 2008 Young Architects are: Xu Tiantian, DnA_Design and Architecture, Beijing and Issaquah, WA Kathy Velikov & Geoffrey Thün, RVTR, Toronto Lonn Combs, EASTON+COMBS Architects, Brooklyn Ben Pell & Tate Overton, PellOverton, New York City Mark Foster Gage, Gage/Clemenceau Architects, New York…

League Prize 2007: Proof

The 2007 Young Architects are: Benjamin Aranda & Chris Lasch, Aranda/Lasch, New York City Carlos Bedoya, Wonne Ickx, Victor Jaime, & Abel Perles, PRODUCTORA, Mexico City Ivan Hernandez Quintela, ludens, Mexico City Chaewon Kim & Beat Schenk, UNI, Cambridge, MA Dominic Leong,…