Young Architects 19: Support

The 19th in a series of books documenting the work of winners of The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers

Young Architects 19: Support features work by the winners of the 2017 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers. The competition theme, Support, defines the term as “an artifice that props architecture up while in turn facilitating new ideas, new forms, and new opportunities for action.” Support prompted entrants to define its effect on architecture as tangible (how buildings stand up), financial (how buildings are funded), and theoretical (how buildings contribute to architectural discourse). The six competition winners avoided literal definitions in favor of metaphorical, historical, and methodological interpretations that have the potential to generate form.

Winners of the 2017 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers:
Jonathan Louie and Nicole McIntosh, Architecture Office
Michelle JaJa Chang
Kevin Hirth, KEVIN HIRTH Co.
Mustafa Faruki, theLab-lab for architecture
Isabel Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo, LANZA Atelier
Molly Hunker and Greg Corso, SPORTS

Mark Robbins, author of the foreword, is the president of the American Academy in Rome. He served on the 2017 League Prize jury. Anne Rieselbach, program director of The Architectural League, has directed The Architectural League Prize program since 1987.

The book was celebrated on May 1 at Rizzoli Bookstore with the partners from SPORTS and Architecture Office, Mark Robbins (LP ‘84), and Paul Lewis, founding partner at LTL Architects and president of The Architectural League (LP ‘97). Moderated by Anne Rieselbach.
View event.

The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers is a juried portfolio competition organized around a yearly theme. Architects and designers ten years or less out of school are eligible. Work can be built or unbuilt and executed in any medium. The League Prize is the focus of an exhibition and lecture series held in New York City, as well as this volume. The list of over 200 past winners represents some of today’s leading architects and designers. Many also have earned positions of leadership in schools of architecture, or have shaped the architectural landscape through their guiding roles in public agencies. Select past winners include Steven Holl; Billie Tsien; Preston Scott Cohen; Claire Weisz and Mark Yoes; Rick Joy; Eric Bunge and Mimi Hoang; Shih-Fu Peng and Roisin Heneghan; Teddy Cruz; Lisa Iwamoto and Craig Scott; Frida Escobedo; Jenny Sabin; and Neeraj Bhatia.

The recipients and projects of the 2017 Architectural League Prize demonstrate that the yield is still as varied and endless as the individuals who have the optimism to challenge orthodoxies and a sense of possibilities for invention. —Mark Robbins, president of the American Academy in Rome, 2017 jury member