League Prize 2011: It’s Different

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

Every generation thinks it’s special and different, and ours is no exception. What perhaps may make the claim stronger for today’s young architects are the circumstances: unprecedented networking and integration; global economic and security crises; environmental activism and environmental catastrophe; virtual revolution and physical stagnation.

The 2011 League Prize competition addressed the state of architecture as a reflection of our world: It’s different now.

Winners included:

  • Ajmal Aqtash, Richard Sarrach, & Tamaki Uchikawa of form-ula
  • Jason Kelly Johnson & Nataly Gattegno of Future Cities Lab
  • Kiel Moe
  • Unchung Na & Sorae Yoo of NAMELESS
  • Catie Newell of Alibi Studio
  • William O’Brien Jr.

The theme was developed by this year’s Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Lonn Combs, Phu Hoang, and Aleksandr Mergold.

The jury included Combs, Hoang, and Mergold, in addition to Michael Manfredi, Thom Mayne, Hilary Sample, Annabelle Selldorf, and Ken Smith.

The competition is organized by The Architectural League’s program director, Anne Rieselbach.


dca-logo nysca_LOGO-rgb Dornbracht-logo SGLA-Logo Tischler-Logo_P

Lecture videos

form-ula lecture

Ajmal Aqtash and Richard Sarrach of form-ula deliver a League Prize lecture.

March 15, 2012

Kiel Moe lecture

Kiel Moe's research focuses on theories, techniques, and technologies of converged material and energy systems. 

July 5, 2011

Alibi Studio lecture

Catie Newell presents a series of recent installations for her 2011 League Prize lecture.

July 5, 2011

Exhibition listing

More from past League Prize winners