League Prize 2006: Instability

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

The 2006 League Prize theme was instability.

Whether a cyclical recurrence or a phenomenal outburst, instability agitates the normative groundings of current economic, political, ethical, and climatic paradigms. In the midst of shaken institutions, weakened states of normalcy, and defunct analytical models, how do young architects define their practice?

The winners included:

  • Julie Beckman & Keith Kaseman of KBAS
  • David Benjamin & Soo-in Yang of The Living
  • Craig Borum & Karl Daubmann of PLY Architecture
  • Yansong Ma & Yosuke Hayano of MAD office
  • Julio Salcedo
  • Betsy & Shane Williamson of WilliamsonWilliamson

The year’s competition theme was developed by the 2006 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Douglas Gauthier, Naji Moujaes, and Beth Weinstein.

The jury included Gauthier, Moujaes, and Weinstein, in addition to Craig Dykers, Monica Ponce de Leon, Sarah Sze, and Craig Konyk.

The competition is organized by The Architectural League’s program director, Anne Rieselbach.

More from past League Prize winners

STPMJ lecture

Seung Teak Lee and Mi Jung Lim present their work as part of the League Prize lecture series.