League Prize 2012: No Precedent

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

The 2012 League Prize competition asked young architects to consider the self-defining nature of their generation.

Winners included:

  • Jorge Arvizu, Ignacio del Rio, Emmanuel Ramirez, & Diego Ricalde of MMX Studio
  • Jimenez Lai of Bureau Spectacular
  • Sean Lally of WEATHERS / Sean Lally
  • Seung Teak Lee & Mi Jung Lim of STPMJ
  • Michael Szivos of SOFTlab
  • Koji Tsutsui of Koji Tsutsui & Associates

The theme was developed by the 2018 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Emily Abruzzo, Dominic Leong, and Michael Loverich.

The jury included Abruzzo, Leong, and Loverich, in addition to Toshiko Mori, Gregg Pasquarelli, Lisa Phillips, Annabelle Selldorf, and Robert Somol.

The competition is organized by The Architectural League’s program director, Anne Rieselbach.


Interview videos

Interview: MMX

Emmanuel Ramirez and Diego Ricalde discuss the work of their studio and their installation for the League Prize 2012 exhibition.

September 18, 2012

Interview: STPMJ

A discussion with League Prize winners Seung Teak Lee and Mi Jung Lim.

April 6, 2012

Lecture videos

MMX lecture

Emmanuel Ramirez and Diego Ricalde present several recent projects and their design philosophy.

September 18, 2012

STPMJ lecture

Seung Teak Lee and Mi Jung Lim present their work as part of the League Prize lecture series.

April 6, 2012

SOFTlab lecture

SOFTlab's Michael Svizos discusses his work as part of the 2012 League Prize presentations.

September 3, 2012

Koji Tsutsui lecture

Koji Tsutsui presents recent work, including a school and home complex for HIV orphans in Uganda.

September 22, 2012

Exhibition listing

More from past League Prize winners

Ultramoderne lecture

What separates architecture from other disciplines, say the founders of Ultramoderne, is that it unites the conceptual, social, and material.

form-ula lecture

Ajmal Aqtash and Richard Sarrach of form-ula deliver a League Prize lecture.