League Prize 1999: Scale

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

This year’s competition asked entrants to consider scale. The abstraction and perception of scale are primary to the design and experience of architecture. Concepts of scale may be understood through proportional relationships but are also informed by immeasurable sensations, phenomena and events. As technology increasingly fosters the creation of virtual worlds, experience and perception are, potentially, increasingly disembodied.

Does this realm of dematerialized experience also affect our understanding of scale? What are the critical issues which pertain to scale and its possibly modes of representation? How do architect’s methods of design affect the possibilities for scale in their work?

Winners included:

  • Sunil Bald & Yolande Daniels
  • Omar Khan & Laura Garófalo
  • Vrinda Khanna & Robert Schultz
  • Edward Mitchell
  • Douglas Pancoast
  • Shih-Fu Peng & Róisín Heneghan

The theme was developed by the 1999 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Karl Jensen, Victoria Meyers, and Yoshiko Sato.

The jury included Frank Lupo, Jody Pinto, Donna Robertson, and Bernard Tschumi.

The competition is organized by The Architectural League’s program director, Anne Rieselbach.

More from past League Prize winners

Ultramoderne lecture

What separates architecture from other disciplines, say the founders of Ultramoderne, is that it unites the conceptual, social, and material.

LANZA Atelier lecture

Isabel Martínez Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo present their League Prize installation and other work.