League Prize 1997: Vision Medium Culture

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

This year’s League Prize asked entrants to consider how the medium of architecture defines their vision in relationship to contemporary culture.

Winners included:

  • David Guthrie
  • Kyna Leski
  • Frederic Levrat & Zolaykha Sherzad
  • David Lewis & Paul Lewis
  • Monica Ponce de Leon & Nader Tehrani
  • Kelly Shannon

The theme was developed by the 1997 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Kadambari Baxi, Janet Fink, and Adam Yarinsky.

The jury included Walter Chatham, Laurie Hawkinson, Paul Rudolph, and Michael Webb.

More from past League Prize winners