League Prize 1994: High Definition

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

The 1994 competition asked architects to present their work within a self-defined framework. This framing allowed architects and designers to describe the aspirations, limitations, and production of their work. The work, whether it be built, unbuilt, just conceived, or revisited, was to be considered with all the attributes that contributed to its making. In this way it could be considered as a model of architectural production, inevitably tied to a larger physical and cultural context.

Winners included:

  • Byron Kuth & Elizabeth Ranieri
  • Linda Pollak
  • Alastair Reilly
  • Bryce Sanders
  • Michael Stanton
  • Kramer Woodard

The theme was developed by the 1994 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Alicia Imperiale, Peter Pelsinski, and Claire Weisz.

The jury included Paul Byard, Toshiko Mori, Lauretta Vinciarelli, and Mark Wigley.

More from past League Prize winners

Separate, together

Working from two different locations, the founders of mcdowellespinosa take advantage of their “opposing, complementary viewpoints.”