League Prize 1990: Out of Site

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

Architects and designers often seek alternative modes of expression as a means of formulating a working method. This may entail exploring new sites of investigation and new sites for architecture. Design can be removed from the nature and landscape and instead find expression in installations, drawings, or furniture.

This year’s theme, “Out of Site,” acknowledged that each site of investigation generates its own set of boundaries and means of representation necessary to contend with the forces that define each problem. The theme sought to recognize work that investigates old and new ideas on the problem of site.

Winners included:

  • Janek Bielski
  • Francisco de Almaida, Scott deVere, Beth Weinstein, & Zanie Zainulabidin of Group of Four
  • Benjamin Gianni
  • Gisue & Mojgan Hariri
  • Neil Logan
  • Luke Lowings
  • Omar Perez & Georgia Daskalakis

The theme was developed by the 1990 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Christopher Doyle, Thomas Hanrahan, and Peter Shinoda.

The jury included Paul Byard, Laurie Hawkinson, John Hejduk, and Joan Ockman.

More from past League Prize winners


An overview of the 2013 exhibition with photos by David Sundberg and Alexandra Hay.