League Prize 1993: "12"

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

The following served as the prompt for the 1993 League Prize competition entry:

“In the past, each Young Architects Forum has had a specific theme which has served as a means to organize, edit, and explain the work presented. This year, instead, entrants should include a narrative of 200 words or less establishing a context through which their work can be evaluated, in essence creating a theme for the work presented. The narrative should not just describe the projects, but should explain the ideas that link or are embodied in the work.”

Winners included:

  • Victoria Casasco
  • Mark Goulthorpe & Yee Pin Tan
  • Alicia Imperiale & Darius Sollohub
  • Amy Landesburg & Lisa Quatrale
  • Michael Morris & Yoshiko Sato
  • John & Thomas Reistetter
  • Claire Weisz & Mark Yoes

The theme was developed by the 1993 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Georgia Daskalakis, Kevin Kennon, and Scott Marble.

The jury included Paul Byard, Jackie Ferrara, Mario Gandelsonas, and Rosalind Krauss.

More from past League Prize winners

The invariants

The founders of Pelletier de Fontenay seek to strip architecture to its essentials.

SPORTS lecture

League Prize winners Greg Corso and Molly Hunker discuss their design philosophy and approach.