League Prize 1991: Practice

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

Entrants to the 1991 competition were asked to respond to the following prompt:

“The work of many young architects and designers today has problematized the meaning of the term “architectural practice.” Architects beginning professional work confront a way to work which may ultimately lead to a practice or simply provide practice. Perhaps responding to the many social forces that are changing the definition of the architect in contemporary society, many young architects pursue work which may, at times, have as much relation to contracting, performance art, poetry, philosophy, or decoration as it does to “traditional architecture.” This year’s theme focuses on the works of young architects and the architectural practices they employ or suggest.

How does your work engage a practice of architecture as you have come to know it?”

Winners included:

  • Thomas Bish & Hal Laessig
  • George Boyle
  • Uwe Drost
  • Douglas Garofalo
  • Janis Hall
  • Craig Konyk
  • Craig Newick

The theme was developed by the 1991 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Mojgan Hariri, Anthony Pleskow, and Timothy Schollaert.

The jury included Paul Byard, Sanford Kwinter, and José Oubrerie. 

More from past League Prize winners

Cadaster lecture

The Brooklyn firm explores the material, spatial, and legal forces that shape the built environment.