League Prize 2016: (im)permanence

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition organized by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

The 2016 League Prize competition asked entrants to consider the meaning of permanence in their work. The theme was developed by the 2016 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Jason Austin, Gerald Bodziak, and Rychiee Espinosa.

The jury consisted of Austin, Bodziak, and Espinosa, in addition to Mimi Hoang, Paul Lewis, Anu Mathur, and Billie Tsien.

The competition is organized by The Architectural League’s program director, Anne Rieselbach.

Winner profiles


League Prize 2016 winners: Rania Ghosn and El Hadi Jazairy of DESIGN EARTH

G3 Arquitectos

League Prize 2016 winner: Juan Alfonso Garduño Jardón of G3 Arquitectos


League Prize 2016 winners: Neyran Turan and Mete Sonmez of NEMESTUDIO


League Prize 2016 winners: Yasmin Vobis and Aaron Forrest of Ultramoderne

Interview videos

On longevity

NEMESTUDIO's founders discuss the themes underlying their work as they prepare for the League Prize exhibition.

February 13, 2018

The invariants

The founders of Pelletier de Fontenay seek to strip architecture to its essentials.

February 13, 2018

Lecture videos


A changing climate demands a new way of thinking about the relationship between architecture and geography, say the duo behind Design Earth.

January 3, 2018

G3 Arquitectos lecture

For G3's Juan Alfonso Garduño Jardón, built form is less important than the people who use it.

January 3, 2018


For League Prize winners NEMESTUDIO, conventions were made to be tweaked.

January 3, 2018

Ultramoderne lecture

What separates architecture from other disciplines, say the founders of Ultramoderne, is that it unites the conceptual, social, and material.

January 3, 2018

Event and exhibition listings


The Architectural League Prize is made possible by Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown and Tischler und Sohn. League programs are made possible, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Support is also provided by the Next Generation Fund, an alumni fund of The Architectural League’s Emerging Voices and Architectural League Prize programs.

More from past League Prize winners

LANZA Atelier lecture

Isabel Martínez Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo present their League Prize installation and other work.