League Prize 2016: Night 1

June 28, 2016
7:00 p.m.

The first evening of lectures by winners of The Architectural League Prize features Neeraj Bhatia of The Open Workshop; Hubert Pelletier and Yves de Fontenay of Pelletier de Fontenay; and Rania Ghosn and El Hadi Jazairy, DESIGN EARTH. The League Prize is one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects. This year’s theme, (im)permanence, asks how time affects architecture’s assertion of style, methods of assembly, and relationship to program, thus altering our expectations of permanent structures in an impermanent environment.

There will be an introduction from Jason Austin, 2010 League Prize winner and principal of Austin+Mergold.

The League thanks the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at The New School’s Parsons School of Design for co-sponsoring and hosting the League Prize exhibition and lectures.


The Architectural League Prize is made possible by Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown, USAI Lighting, and Tischler und Sohn. League programs are made possible, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Support is also provided by the Next Generation Fund, an alumni fund of The Architectural League’s Emerging Voices and Architectural League Prize programs.