Call for Entries: League Prize 2023 | Uncomfortable

2023 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers | Uncomfortable

Wednesday, February 15, 2023, 11:59 p.m. EST

All entries must be submitted through the League’s digital competition portal.

Young architects and designers are invited to submit work to the 2023 Architectural League Prize competition. Projects of all types, either theoretical or real, and executed in any medium, are welcome. The jury will select work for presentation in lectures, digital media, and an exhibition in June 2023. Winners will receive a cash prize of $2,000. 

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, the Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition organized by The Architectural League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

Learn more about past winners of The Architectural League Prize.

Jose Amozurrutia
Germane Barnes
Jennifer Bonner

Barbara Bestor
Wonne Ickx
Kyle Miller
Tya Winn

Download the call for entries poster designed by Pentagram.

This is an open call for a generation of designers in an age of the Uncomfortable.

Feeling awkward, nervous, or uneasy? As young designers, we are wrestling with numerous uncomfortable responsibilities: dismantling architectural legacies, challenging traditional paradigms, grappling with the costs of comfort, responding to ecological concerns. Our many discomforts range in scale, context, and urgency.

The 2023 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers asks entrants to examine the Uncomfortable. From climate change to labor practices, the sources of our discomfort demand both critical reflection and collective imagination. Are you restless within the discipline’s status quo? How do you respond to discomfort? Whose comfort matters?

We invite practices to demonstrate how they find comfort within the unconventional, discover opportunity within crisis, and use the Uncomfortable as a design tool.

Esta es una convocatoria abierta para una generación de diseñadores en la era de lo Incómodo.

¿Te sientes estresada, nerviose, intranquilo? Como jóvenes diseñadores luchamos con varias responsabilidades incómodas: desmantelar los legados de la arquitectura que nos precede, retar los paradigmas tradicionales, encarar los costos del confort, responder a preocupaciones ecológicas… Nuestros muchos malestares varían en escala, contexto y urgencia.

El Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers convoca a los concursantes que examinen lo Incómodo. Desde el cambio climático hasta las prácticas laborales, las fuentes de nuestro malestar requieren tanto de reflexión autocrítica como de imaginación colectiva. ¿Estás inquiete dentro del status quo de la disciplina? ¿Cómo responder al malestar mediante los proyectos arquitectónicos? ¿Quienes son aquellos cuya comodidad importa?

Invitamos a tú práctica a demostrar cómo encuentra bienestar en lo no-convencional, descubre oportunidades en situaciones de crisis y usa lo incómodo como herramienta de diseño.

The competition is open only to current full-time residents (who need not be citizens) of the United States, Canada, and Mexico. 

Entrants must be ten years or less out of a bachelor’s or master’s degree program. Current students are ineligible. 

No student work completed for any academic program or degree is eligible for submission. Educators may not include work done in their studios or for their teaching. 

Entrants may submit individually or as a group. Entrants must submit work done independently; no work done as an employee of a firm where the entrant is not a principal or partner is eligible for submission. 

Past League Prize winners are ineligible. 

If only one partner of a firm is eligible, the eligible partner can enter as an individual. The entrant must upload a signed document from all other partners that briefly describes the entrant’s role within the practice. If the entrant’s portfolio is selected, the individual, not the firm, will be listed as a recipient of the prize. 

Projects realized in collaboration with other practices or individuals may be included in the competition portfolio. Projects of this type must be accompanied by signed documents from all non-entrant collaborators describing their contribution to the work and approving the project’s inclusion in the entrant’s competition portfolio. League staff will review these documents before the jury convenes and will inform the jury about the collaborations when relevant. Collaborative work will be considered within the context of an individual’s complete portfolio.

A single digital portfolio in PDF format, with a file size no larger than 35MB and page dimensions not to exceed 11×14”. It may not contain more than 30 pages in total, excluding the cover page. The portfolio may either focus on a single project or feature multiple projects.

The jury will review each portfolio in its original digital format. During the deliberation process, jurors will see a grid of the submitted portfolios’ cover pages. In this view, the cover pages will be automatically cropped as small square thumbnails. To facilitate jury review, the first page of the portfolio must be formatted as a square (1:1) and should feature a representative image of the work.

If relevant, please upload collaborator acknowledgment and/or partner acknowledgment form(s) to the submission portal. 

The competition theme is given as a basis for young architects and designers to reflect upon and reevaluate their work. A written statement not to exceed 250 words that defines and considers the work under the rubric of the competition theme is required. Significant weight is given to how an applicant’s work addresses the theme. The written statement must be on the first (non-cover) page of the portfolio. 

This is an anonymous competition. Submitted portfolios may not contain any form of identification. Including an entrant’s name, firm name, or photograph anywhere in the portfolio is grounds for disqualification. 

If relevant, please upload collaborator acknowledgment and/or partner acknowledgment form(s) to the submission portal.

The entry fee is $35 per submission, to be paid via the online competition portal.  

Wednesday, February 15, 2023 11:59 p.m. EST
There will be no exceptions to this deadline.

Winning entrants will be notified by mid-March 2023.

Anne Rieselbach

Rafi Lehmann

Applicants may email questions to Program Manager Rafi Lehmann,

Graphic identity by Pentagram.


The Architectural League Prize is made possible by JUDLOWE, Tischler und Sohn, and Delta Millworks. 

This program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council. Support is also provided by the Next Generation Fund, an alumni fund of The Architectural League’s Emerging Voices and Architectural League Prize programs, and by the J. Clawson Mills Fund of The Architectural League.