League Prize 2023 Night 3: Katie MacDonald & Kyle Schumann, Joseph Altshuler & Zack Morrison

The final evening of lectures by winners of “Uncomfortable,” the 2023 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers.

June 29, 2023
6:30 p.m.

Left: After Architecture with Vinnie Bagwell, Yun Associates, Bruce Baldwin | Camp Barker Memorial, Washington DC, 2019. Image credit: Sam Oberter. Right: Could Be Design, Julia Sedlock, Efrain Araujo, Rainbolt Productions, Building Brown Workshop | Animate Arcade, Siebel Center for Design, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Champaign, IL, 2023. Image credit: Brian Griffin

Established in 1981, the Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers is a juried portfolio competition for early-career practitioners in North America, organized around a yearly theme.

The 2023 competition theme, Uncomfortable, asked entrants to examine their discomforts. Composed by the 2023 Young Architects + Designers Committee, the theme statement invited “practices to demonstrate how they find comfort within the unconventional, discover opportunity within crisis, and use the Uncomfortable as a design tool.”

The final evening of lectures by the winners of the 2023 League Prize will feature Katie MacDonald and Kyle Schumann of After Architecture and Joseph Altshuler and Zack Morrison of Could Be Design

The presentations will be followed by a moderated discussion and audience Q&A with 2023 Young Architects + Designers Committee member Germane Barnes. Barnes is the director of Studio Barnes and the director of the MArch program at the University of Miami School of Architecture.


The Architectural League Prize is made possible by JUDLOWE, Tischler und Sohn, and Delta Millworks.

The Architectural League Prize is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council. Support is also provided by the Next Generation Fund, an alumni fund of The Architectural League’s Emerging Voices and Architectural League Prize programs, and the J. Clawson Mills Fund of The Architectural League. League Prize public programs are made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature.