League Prize 2023 Night 1: Miles Gertler, Sarah Aziz & Lindsey Krug

The first evening of lectures by winners of “Uncomfortable,” the 2023 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers.

June 15, 2023
6:30 p.m.

Left: Common Accounts, La Fonderia Nolana, Armiche Rodriguez | Refresh, Renew, Royal Academy of Spain in Rome, Rome, Italy, 2019. Image credit: Common Accounts. Right: Sarah Aziz, Lindsey Krug, Natalie Kuehl, Jacob Rohan, Franziska Burkard | Dollar Gentle Cycle, Mobile Design Box Gallery, Milwaukee, WI, 2022. Image credit: Abigail Platz

Established in 1981, the Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers is a juried portfolio competition for early-career practitioners in North America, organized around a yearly theme.

The 2023 competition theme, Uncomfortable, asked entrants to examine their discomforts. Composed by the 2023 Young Architects + Designers Committee, the theme statement invited “practices to demonstrate how they find comfort within the unconventional, discover opportunity within crisis, and use the Uncomfortable as a design tool.”

The first evening of lectures by the winners of the 2023 League Prize will feature Miles Gertler of Common Accounts and Sarah Aziz and Lindsey Krug.

The presentations will be followed by a moderated discussion and audience Q&A with 2023 Young Architects + Designers Committee member Jose Amozurrutia. Amozurrutia is a founding principal of TO and teaches at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM).


The Architectural League Prize is made possible by JUDLOWE, Tischler und Sohn, and Delta Millworks.

The Architectural League Prize is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council. Support is also provided by the Next Generation Fund, an alumni fund of The Architectural League’s Emerging Voices and Architectural League Prize programs, and the J. Clawson Mills Fund of The Architectural League. League Prize public programs are made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature.