2012 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers: No Precedent

The Architectural League Prize is one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects.

The Prize is an annual portfolio competition organized by the Architectural League and its Young Architects and Designers Committee.  The committee, a group selected each year from past winners of the League Prize, is responsible for developing the program’s theme and selecting competition jurors.   This year’s theme, No Precedent, reflects the committee’s perception of young architects’ careers as “suggestive, speculative, and on the brink.”  The committee called for “ideas, works, and methodologies that are unfounded, ungrounded, and suspect…the things no one has done before, and that one has little experience with.”  Open to designers ten years or less out of school, the competition draws entrants from around North America. Winners of the Award will lecture in June and display their work in an exhibition on view through the summer.  Their work will also be published in the Young Architects series, jointly published by Princeton Architectural Press and the Architectural League, and their ideas will be distributed by the League in podcasts and original interviews.

This yearʼs jury consisted of Toshiko Mori, Gregg Pasquarelli, Lisa Phillips, Annabelle Selldorf, and Robert Somol.  Committee members were Emily Abruzzo, Dominic Leong, and Michael Loverich.  The program is directed by League Program Director Anne Rieselbach.

The 2012 League Prize is awarded to:

Jorge Arvizu, Ignacio del Rio, Emmanuel Ramirez, and Diego Ricalde, MMX Studio, Mexico City
Jimenez Lai, Bureau Spectacular, Chicago
Sean Lally, WEATHERS / Sean Lally, Chicago
Seung Teak Lee and Mi Jung Lim, STPMJ, Brooklyn
Michael Szivos, SOFTlab, New York
Koji Tsutsui, Koji Tsutsui & Associates, San Francisco and Tokyo

For information on this year’s lecture series featuring the winning firms, click here.  For information on the exhibition, click here.  For information on the original Call for Entries, click here.

The League Prize is generously supported by Dornbracht, Susan Grant Lewin Associates, and Tischler und Sohn.  The program is also supported by the Next Generation Fund of the Architectural League.

Architectural League programs are additionally supported, in part, by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.