League Prize 1986: Behind Closed Doors

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

The theme for the 1986 competition gave recognition to the personal and hidden nature of design work which often occurs outside the bounds of our professional lives. Behind Closed Doors sought to question the relationship between these private concerns and the social and aesthetic context in which we live.

Winners included:

  • Stefanie Bradie
  • Mike Cadwell
  • Neil Denari
  • David Gregor & Irene Keil
  • Tom Hanrahan & Victoria Meyers
  • David Hertz
  • Keith Hone
  • Eric Kahn & Russell Thompson of Studio Terminale
  • Sulan Kolatan & William MacDonald
  • Steven Lombardi
  • Taeg Nishimoto
  • Christopher Scholz, Kenneth Kaplan, & Ted Krueger
  • Linda Trobaugh

The theme was developed by the 1986 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Frederick Biehle, Mary Pepchinski, Peter Pfau, and Mark Robbins.

The jury included Zaha Hadid, Frances Halsband, Craig Hodgetts, Mary McLeod, and Rafael Moneo.

More from past League Prize winners