League Prize 2017: Support

The competition asked architects to consider what props up the discipline today.

2017 Winners:
Architecture Office (Jonathan Louie & Nicole McIntosh), Michelle JaJa Chang, KEVIN HIRTH Co. (Kevin Hirth), the Lab-lab for architecture (Mustafa Faruki), LANZA Atelier (Isabel Martínez Abascal & Alessandro Arienzo), SPORTS (Greg Corso & Molly Hunker)

2017 League Prize Committee:
Erin Besler, Aaron Forrest, Sung Goo Yang

2017 Jurors:
Sylvia Lavin, Guy Nordenson, Mark Robbins, Shohei Shigematsu


Winner profiles

LANZA Atelier

Mexico City's Isabel Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo practice as LANZA Atelier.


The work of Molly Hunker and Greg Corso unites playfulness and rigor.


Image and meaning

Jonathan Louie and Nicole McIntosh speak with the Architectural League's Catarina Flaksman and Akiva Blander.

January 10, 2018

On meaning and noise

Influenced by her background in international relations, Michelle JaJa Chang explores systems of representation.

January 22, 2018

Taking humor seriously

Mustafa Faruki believes that architecture should reflect the full range of human emotions.

January 30, 2018

Lecture videos

LANZA Atelier lecture

Isabel Martínez Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo present their League Prize installation and other work.

February 23, 2018

SPORTS lecture

League Prize winners Greg Corso and Molly Hunker discuss their design philosophy and approach.

February 13, 2018

Event and exhibition listings


The Architectural League Prize is made possible by Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown and Tischler und Sohn. League programs are made possible, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Support is also provided by the Next Generation Fund, an alumni fund of The Architectural League’s Emerging Voices and Architectural League Prize programs.