League Prize 2017: Night 2

Jonathan Louie and Nicole McIntosh, Isabel Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo, Mustafa Faruki

June 29, 2017
7:00 p.m.

The second evening of lectures by winners of The Architectural League Prize features Mustafa Faruki of theLab-lab for architecture; Isabel Abascal andAlessandro Arienzo of LANZA Atelier; and Jonathan Louie and Nicole McIntosh ofArchitecture Office. A reception with the opportunity to view the exhibition will follow.

This year’s theme for the portfolio competition, Support identified a present situation in which precarious forms and precarious social arrangements exist side by side. How does one clarify the modes of support in architecture today when the discipline’s role is obscured by a tangled network in which exchanges between built form and various systems of framing, assistance, and reenforcement are constantly in flux?

The League thanks the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at The New School’s Parsons School of Design for co-sponsoring and hosting the League Prize exhibition and lectures.


The Architectural League Prize is made possible by Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown and Tischler und Sohn. League programs are made possible, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Support is also provided by the Next Generation Fund, an alumni fund of The Architectural League’s Emerging Voices and Architectural League Prize programs. The League thanks the Mexican Cultural Institute and Interjet for their additional support.