League Prize 2020: Value

Established in 1981 to recognize exemplary and provocative work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition organized by The Architectural League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

In a time of political and social precariousness when all cultural value sets seem publicly permissible, this year’s Architectural League Prize competition asked entrants to consider how notions of value operate in their work. How are values mediated by the processes of design? What are the discursive contexts, forms of representation, and/or spaces of action in which these values manifest themselves?

The theme was developed by the 2020 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which included recent League Prize winners Kutan Ayata, Mira Henry, and Kevin Hirth.

The jury included the committee in addition to Lucia Allais, Paul Lewis, Anna Puigjaner, and Nanako Umemoto.

The competition is organized by The Architectural League’s program director Anne Rieselbach and program manager Catarina Flaksman.

Given the constraints of social engagement due to the Covid-19 pandemic, this year’s League Prize program will be presented entirely online. Winners will deliver streamed lectures followed by a live q&a session and will create digital installations of their work, rather than the annual exhibition in the galleries of the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons School of Design at The New School.


Digital Exhibition
The exhibition will feature original material created by each of the winners for archleague.org

Online Lecture Series
Lectures begin at 7:00 p.m. EST. Admission is free and registration via Zoom is required. Each evening will consist of an introduction, lectures by two winning firms, and a moderated q&a.

Ivi Diamantopoulou and Jaffer Kolb | New Affiliates
Luis Beltrán del Río García and Andrew Sosa Martínez | Vrtical
Moderated by Kevin Hirth

David Eskenazi | d.esk
Leslie Lok and Sasa Zivkovic | HANNAH
Moderated by Mira Henry

Garrett Ricciardi and Julian Rose | Formlessfinder
Isaac Michan Daniel | Michan Architecture
Moderated by Kutan Ayata

The Architectural League Prize is made possible by Hunter Douglas Architectural, Kubany Judlowe, and Tischler und Sohn.

League programs are made possible, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council, and the New York State Council on the Arts, with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Support is also provided by the Next Generation Fund, an alumni fund of The Architectural League’s Emerging Voices and Architectural League Prize programs, and the J. Clawson Mills Fund of The Architectural League.