2011 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects and Designers:
It’s Different


The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, series of lectures, and exhibition organized by the Architectural League and its Young Architects and Designers Committee. The League Prize was established to recognize specific works of high quality and to encourage the exchange of ideas among young people who might otherwise not have a forum.

Participants in the program are chosen through a portfolio competition that is juried by distinguished architects, artists and critics, and the Young Architects and Designers Committee. The committee, a group selected each year from past winners of the League Prize, is responsible for developing the program’s theme and selecting competition jurors. Open to designers ten years or less out of school, the competition draws entrants from around North America. The lecture series and exhibition by winners of the competition provide a lively public forum for the discussion of their work and ideas.

The 2011 Architectural League Prize winners are:

Ajmal Aqtash, Richard Sarrach, and Tamaki Uchikawa, form-ula, New York City
Jason Kelly Johnson and Nataly Gattegno, Future Cities Lab, San Francisco
Kiel Moe, Boston
Unchung Na and Sorae Yoo, NAMELESS, New York City
Catie Newell, Alibi Studio, Detroit
William O’Brien Jr., Cambridge, Massachusetts

For additional information on this year’s Call for Entries, click here. For more information on the lectures, click here. For more information on this year’s exhibition, click here.

The Architectural League Prize is made possible, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council and the New York State Council on the Arts, a State Agency. The program is supported by Dornbracht, Susan Grant Lewin Associates, and Tischler und Sohn.

The League thanks the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons The New School for Design for co-sponsoring the exhibition and lecture series.


dca-logo nysca_LOGO-rgb Dornbracht-logo SGLA-Logo Tischler-Logo_P