League Prize 1988: Hypotheses

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

This year’s theme, Hypotheses, recognized that the early part of an architect’s career could be described as time spent in a laboratory, experimenting with existing and new theories of architecture and design. Projects were sought which demonstrate the development and testing of an individual hypothesis for generating architectural forms and ideas.

Winners included:

  • Florian Aicher & Uwe Drepper
  • Stan Allen
  • Matthew Bialecki
  • Brett Boyd Steele
  • Carlos Jimenez
  • Cameron McNall
  • Anthony Pleskow

The theme was developed by the 1988 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Leslie Gill, Taeg Nishimoto, and Donna Seftel.

The jury included Frances Halsband, Mark Mack, Patricia Phillips, and Robert Slutzky.

More from past League Prize winners

The generic original

Clark Thenhaus tests form-making strategies by combining and recontextualizing standard geometries to produce unfamiliar forms.


A changing climate demands a new way of thinking about the relationship between architecture and geography, say the duo behind Design Earth.