League Prize 1987: Bridges

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

This year’s theme, Bridges, acknowledged that architects often must lead double lives. The theme addressed the various and creative solutions which some individuals seek to achieve harmony or to maintain a distinct separation between their personal, pedagogical, or professional endeavors. To this end, entrants were asked to verbally and/or visually address the interrelationship between different aspects of their work.

Winners included:

  • Karen Bausman & Leslie Gill
  • Yann Andre Leroy
  • Christopher Doyle
  • Michele Saee
  • Christopher Genik
  • Donna Seftel
  • David Glover
  • Kenneth Schwartz & Judith Kinnard
  • Kem Gardner Hinton

The theme was developed by the 1987 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Keith Hone, Ralph Lerner, and Lorna McNeur.

The jury included Dore Ashton, Frances Halsband, Edward Jones, and Alan Plattus.

More from past League Prize winners