Emerging Voices 2018

The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices Award spotlights North American individuals and firms with distinct design “voices” that have the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within the design and academic communities. The work of each Emerging Voice represents the best of its kind, and addresses larger issues within architecture, landscape, and the built environment.

This year, the selection process for the two-stage jury was expanded to include past Emerging Voices winners across North America who reviewed work from approximately 50 firms; and a second-round jury in New York who selected eight winners from a group of finalists. The first-round jury included Virginia San Fratello, Sebastian Schmaling, Wonne Ickx, Lola Sheppard, Marcelo Spina, Carlos Jimenez, and Marlon Blackwell as well as members of the second-round jury, Sunil Bald, Lisa Gray, Stella Betts, Jing Liu, Paul Makovsky, Tom Phifer, Chris Reed, and Billie Tsien. Emerging Voices is organized by League Program Director Anne Rieselbach.

The 2018 Emerging Voices are:

Ersela Kripa and Stephen Mueller, AGENCY, El Paso
Fernanda Canales, Mexico City
Jesica Amescua and Mariana Ordóñez Grajales, Comunal: Taller de Arquitectura, Mexico City
Stephanie Davidson and Georg Rafailidis, Davidson Rafailidis, Buffalo
Luis Aldrete, Estudio de Arquitectura, Guadalajara
David Seiter, Future Green Studio, Brooklyn
Helen Leung and Elizabeth Timme, LA-Más, Los Angeles
Chris Baribeau, Josh Siebert, and Jason Wright, modus studio, Fayetteville

Learn more about dates, times, location, and ticket information for the Emerging Voices 2018 Lecture Series. 

Emerging Voices is generously supported by Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown. The Emerging Voices program is also supported by the Next Generation Fund of The Architectural League. Architectural League programs are additionally supported, in part, by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.