The Architectural League Prize 2016 Night I


June 28 League Prize 800 x 500 copy

The Architectural League Prize 2016 Night I

Rania Ghosn and El Hadi Jazairy, DESIGN EARTH, Cambridge, MA and
Ann Arbor, MI
Neeraj Bhatia, The Open Workshop, San Francisco, CA
Hubert Pelletier and Yves de Fontenay, Pelletier de Fontenay, Montreal, Canada

1.5 AIA and New York State CEUs

The League thanks the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at The New School’s Parsons School of Design for co-sponsoring and hosting the League Prize exhibition and lectures.

The first evening of lectures by winners of The Architectural League Prize features Neeraj Bhatia of The Open Workshop; Hubert Pelletier and Yves de Fontenay of Pelletier de Fontenay; and Rania Ghosn and El Hadi Jazairy, DESIGN EARTH. The League Prize is one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects. This year’s theme, (im)permanence, asks how time affects architecture’s assertion of style, methods of assembly, and relationship to program, thus altering our expectations of permanent structures in an impermanent environment.

There will be an introduction from Jason Austin, 2010 League Prize winner and principal of Austin+Mergold.

A reception with the opportunity to view the exhibition will follow.

Learn more about this year’s winners and their work.

Time & Place
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
7:00 p.m.
Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Auditorium
Sheila C. Johnson Design Center
The New School's Parsons School of Design
66 Fifth Avenue
Reserved tickets for the lectures are sold-out. Lectures may be watched via live stream the night of each program. We additionally invite those interested in attending to watch the lectures in an overflow space at The Sheila C. Johnson Design Center via live stream; we will do our best to get everyone into the main lecture hall, capacity permitting. All are also welcome to join us for the opening receptions and a chance to view the exhibition, which will take place at roughly 8:30 p.m., following the lectures. Those wishing to attend the lectures via overflow seating or the exhibition and reception opening need not RSVP. Please email with any questions.
The Architectural League Prize is made possible by Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown, USAI Lighting, and Tischler und Sohn. League programs are made possible, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Support is also provided by the Next Generation Fund, an alumni fund of The Architectural League’s Emerging Voices and Architectural League Prize programs.