League Prize 2024: Dirty

Dirt is matter: it is the soil, the ground, and the earth. But when dirt makes things dirty, they become unclean. To be dirty is not only a physical state of being; it is a moral position, as “dirty” subjects are understood to be vulgar, illicit, unpleasant, and improper. If cleanliness is next to godliness, dirtiness is debased.

This year’s League Prize asks designers to look beyond their presentations of professionalism, respectability, and expertise. We prompt designers to expose the forces that shape design practice, projects, modes of representation, and communication. It’s time to dish the dirt… How do you reject sanitized ways of working with built, natural, and political environments? Show us your dirty ways and dirty things.

La mugre es materia: es la tierra, el suelo, el planeta. Hasta que la mugre ensucia— ser sucie no es solo un estado físico del ser; es una posición moral. Se entiende de los sujetos “sucies” que son vulgares, ilícitos, desagradables e inadecuados. Si la limpieza está al lado de la divinidad, la suciedad es la degradación.

Este año el League Prize le pide a los diseñadores que miren por encima de sus fachadas de profesionalismo, respetabilidad y competencia. Lo incitamos a que exponga las fuerzas que moldean el diseño, los proyectos, los modos de representación y comunicación. ¿Cómo rechaza usted las higienizadas formas de trabajar con los ambientes construidos, naturales y políticos? Es hora de parar de lavar la ropa sucia en casa… Muéstrenos su mugre.


Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, the Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition organized by The Architectural League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

The theme was developed by the 2024 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which included recent League Prize winners Sarah Aziz, Rodrigo Escandón Cesarman, and Maggie Tsang.

The jury included the committee in addition to Julie Bargmann, Ersela Kripa, Ann Lui, and Ben Nicholson.

Digital Exhibition
Winners will create installations of their work onsite in a location of their choice or in an entirely digital format, all of which will be presented in an online exhibition on archleague.org opening June 11.

Online Lecture Series
The lecture series will be held on Thursdays starting June 13 on Zoom. Each lecture will consist of an introduction, lectures by two winning firms, and a moderated Q&A.

Lectures begin at 12:00 p.m. ET. Admission is free and advance registration via Zoom is required.

Lola Ben-Alon of The Natural Materials Lab
Strat Coffman
Moderated by Rodrigo Escandón Cesarman

Erik Carranza of Anonima
Leah Wulfman
Moderated by Maggie Tsang

Chase Galis, Christina Moushoul, Sonia Sobrino Ralston of Office Party
Rayshad Dorsey, Joseph James, Diego Zubizarreta Otero, Julian Owens, Michael Urueta of Partners of Place (PoP)
Moderated by Sarah Aziz

Graphic identity by Pentagram.


The Architectural League Prize is made possible by JUDLOWE, Tischler und Sohn, and Delta Millworks. 

This program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council. Support is also provided by the Next Generation Fund, an alumni fund of The Architectural League’s Emerging Voices and Architectural League Prize programs, and by the J. Clawson Mills Fund of The Architectural League.