New President and Board Officers elected at 141st Annual Meeting

League members have elected Mario Gooden as the 63rd President of The Architectural League.

Celia Imray gives a guided tour of The Herb Alpert Center at Harlem School of the Arts. June 30, 2022. Photo: Daniel Cioffi
J. Meejin Yoon delivers the Henry N. Cobb Annual Meeting Address at the 141st Annual Meeting. June 30, 2022. Photo: Daniel Cioffi

On June 30, 2022, at The Architectural League’s 141st Annual Meeting held at Harlem School of the Arts, the Herb Alpert Center, members of the League elected Mario Gooden as its 63rd President. Gooden follows Paul Lewis, who served as president from 2018–2022. Lewis remains on the League’s Board of Directors. Continuing board members Quilian Riano and Stella Betts were newly elected to positions as board officers: Riano as Vice-President for Architecture and Betts as Secretary of the Board.


(L) Mario Gooden; (C) Quilian Riano; (R) Stella Betts

Members of The Architectural League play an important role in its governance. At the League’s Annual Meeting, members elect the organization’s directors and officers, who are the fiduciaries of the organization. The proposed slate of officers and directors is nominated by a committee of the League’s current Board and approved by the full Board. The structure of the League’s board, with vice presidencies representing the allied arts and disciplines, dates to the early years of the organization’s history in the late nineteenth century, and was designed to bring artists and designers together for dialogue and mutual education.

Annual Meeting

Recorded June 30, 2022. Videography: Quinn Ryan

League 2018-2022 President Paul Lewis and League Executive Director Rosalie Genevro delivered remarks summarizing the year’s challenges and accomplishments. Mario Gooden addressed members outlining the focus and direction of the League’s work for the future.

Read the Architectural League’s 2021–22 Annual Report.

Read the press release announcing Mario Gooden’s election as the 63rd president of the Architectural League, and the election of other officers and board members.

Henry N. Cobb Annual Meeting Address

Recorded June 30, 2022. Videography: Quinn Ryan

J. Meejin Yoon delivered the Henry N. Cobb Annual Meeting Address, titled “What’s the Matter?” Yoon’s lecture took a close look at how architects can integrate the goals of new construction and climate change mitigation while reckoning with building materials and site histories.


Renée Cheng: Change Agency, Value Change

The dean of the College of Built Environments at the University of Washington challenges architects to better articulate and explicitly take responsibility for the value that architecture adds to collective life.

2021 Annual Meeting Video

Sarah Whiting: It’s About Time

The dean of the Harvard University Graduate School of Design interrogates architecture’s response to the converging crises that define this period of great uncertainty and rapid change.

2020 Annual Meeting Video