Emerging Voices 2015


The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices Award spotlights North American individuals and firms with distinct design “voices” that have the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within the design and academic communities. The work of each Emerging Voice represents the best of its kind, and addresses larger issues within architecture, landscape, and the built environment. This year’s jury included Cynthia Davidson, Susannah Drake, Mario Gooden, Louise Harpman, Paul Lewis, Toshiko Mori, Thomas Phifer, and Billie Tsien. Emerging Voices is organized by League Program Director Anne Rieselbach.

The 2015 Emerging Voices are:

Benjamin Aranda and Chris Lasch, Aranda\Lasch, New York and Tucson
Manuel Cervantes Cespedes, MANUEL CERVANTES CESPEDES / CC ARQUITECTOS, Mexico City
Gabriela Etchegaray and Jorge Ambrosi, AMBROSI | ETCHEGARAY, Mexico City
Alejandro Guerrero and Andrea Soto, Principals, Atelier ARS°, Guadalajara
Neri Oxman, Architect, Founder and Director, Mediated Matter Group, MIT Media Lab, Cambridge
Brian Phillips, Principal, ISA, Philadelphia
Roberto Rovira, Studio Roberto Rovira, Miami
Elizabeth Whittaker, Principal, Merge Architects, Boston

For more information about the 2015 winners, click here.

Emerging Voices is generously supported by Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown, Maharam, and the Next Generation Fund of The Architectural League. Additional support is provided by The Mexican Cultural Institute of New York. Emerging Voices is also supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council. Architectural League programs are supported, in part, by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

EV Logos