David Benjamin

Emerging Voices 2014
The Living
David Benjamin
Recorded: March 6, 2014
Running time: 44:16

Founded in 2006 with “the mission of creating the architecture of the future,” The Living, led by principal David Benjamin, explores “how new technologies come to life in the built environment.”

In 2014, The Architectural League named The Living an Emerging Voice. The annual Emerging Voices award spotlights individuals and firms based in the United States, Canada, or Mexico with distinct design voices and the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape design, and urbanism. Each year, winners are invited to participate in the Emerging Voices lecture series.

In his presentation (embedded above), Benjamin discusses the importance of prototyping and research, information and communication technologies, and engagement with biology and ecosystems to his practice. The firm’s investigations into dynamic, responsive architecture and designing with uncertainty are demonstrated in such projects as Living City; Living Light; Amphibious Architecture (the first iteration of which was developed as part of the League’s 2009 exhibit Toward the Sentient City); Street Life; Lifecycles; the Evolving Chair; and Hy-Fi, The Living’s installation for the 2014 MoMA/PS1 Young Architects Program.

More information about the 2014 Emerging Voices, including an interview with Benjamin about his practice, is available at archleague.org/ev14.

David Benjamin received his M.Arch degree from Columbia University, where he has been the Director of the Living Architecture Lab and Assistant Professor since 2005. A former winner of The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers (with Soo-in Yang), Benjamin has subsequently received numerous awards including the New York Prize Fellowship, the Van Alen Institute; a R + D Award, Architect Magazine; the American Institute of Architects New Practices New York Award; and a New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship.

Visit the 2014 Emerging Voices online feature for more on this year’s winners, and see the complete list of past winners here