Value: Then and Now

To mark the publication of Young Architects 22: Value, the winners of the 2020 League Prize reunite online to reflect on the competition theme and the watershed summer of 2020.

April 5, 2023
12:00 p.m.

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

Announced just a few months before the onset of the pandemic, the theme of the 2020 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers asked entrants to consider how notions of value operate in their work.

The six winning practices offered a range of responses to this theme in their competition portfolios, from the creative reuse of overlooked materials to experimentation with strategies of representation to built public spaces rooted in community, history, and place. 

But as the winning practices prepared their installations and lectures that spring, the COVID-19 pandemic and Black Lives Matter movement for racial justice raised urgent new questions about value, revising its meanings both within and beyond the design community. 

To mark the publication of Young Architects 22: Value, a catalog of the winners’ work, the book’s contributors gather to reflect on how their work has changed since the watershed spring and summer of 2020, and to discuss how value, in its multiple meanings, continues to shape their work.

The program will feature presentations from all six 2020 League Prize winners: 

David Eskenazi, d.esk
Garrett Ricciardi and Julian Rose, Formlessfinder
Leslie Lok and Sasa Zivkovic, HANNAH
Isaac Michan Daniel, Michan Architecture
Ivi Diamantopoulou and Jaffer Kolb, New Affiliates
Luis Beltrán del Río García and Andrew Sosa Martínez, Vrtical

The presentations will be followed by a discussion and Q&A moderated by the members of the 2020 Young Architects + Designers Committee, Kutan Ayata, Mira Henry, and Kevin Hirth.


This publication is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.

We thank ORO Editions for their generous contribution to this publication.The 2020 League Prize program was also made possible by Hunter Douglas Architectural, Rachel Judlowe, Elizabeth Kubany, and Tischler und Sohn.