Emerging Voices Winner Profile

Fernanda Canales

Fernanda Canales | Terreno House, Mexico State, Mexico, 2018. Credit: Rafael Gamo

The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices program spotlights North American architects, landscape architects, and urban designers who have significant bodies of realized work and the potential to influence their field.

Fernanda Canales won a 2018 award.

Canales grew up in Mexico City, where her firm is now based. After completing an undergraduate degree at Mexico’s Universidad Iberoamericana, she earned a master’s degree and doctorate at BarcelonaTech and the Technical University of Madrid, respectively.

Representative projects include:

  • Bruma House, a residence divided into different modules organized around a central patio, with each location based on views, orientation, and vegetation. With Claudia Rodríguez
  • Reading Rooms, a design for flexible community spaces that can be built by people in low-income neighborhoods
  • The Monterrey School of Higher Learning in Design, a new campus on the city’s outskirts.

Canales has published and exhibited widely, showing work at the 2012 Venice Biennale, 2017 Chicago Architectural Biennial, and other venues.

Selected awards include:

  • The American Architecture Prize, AAP Firm of the Year Award, Shortlisted in Multidisciplinary Architecture, 2017
  • Noldi Schreck Prize, Reading Rooms, 2016
  • 10 Best Global Architecture Award, ArchDaily, 2016.

Learn more on her website.