League Prize 1985: Rough Drafts

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

The 1985 competition sought work which boldly investigated an alternative approach to how architecture is conceived and made. It encouraged projects which reflect ideas not normally accepted or expected: work which could be personal, poetic, open-ended, or controversial.

Winners included:

  • Frederick Biehle
  • Dan Coma
  • Douglas Darden
  • Tom Grondona
  • Wes Jones & Peter Pfau
  • Ben Ledbetter
  • Richard Maxon
  • Taeg Nishimoto
  • Wellington Reiter
  • Mark Robbins
  • Frederick Schwartz
  • Joseph Walter
  • Mark West

The theme was developed by the 1985 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past League Prize winners Ross Anderson, Donna V. Robertson,  Billie Tsien, and Anthony Tsirantonakis.

The jury included Emilio Ambasz, Frank Gehry, Mary Miss, Roberta Smith, and Susana Torre.

More from past League Prize winners

Moving house

Dan Spiegel explores the complex relationship between design and domesticity.

Interview: The LADG

Freyinger and Holder discuss the genesis of their work and their League Prize exhibition.