League Prize 1984: Kindergarten Chats

Established in 1981 to recognize visionary work by young practitioners, The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, lecture series, and exhibition led by the League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.

For the 1984 competition, Young Architects were invited to submit projects of any type, ranging from the theoretical to the real, and executed in any medium.

Winners included:

  • Ross Anderson
  • Lawerence A. Chan & Alex Krieger
  • Neil Martin Denari
  • Alan Shope, Robert Reno, & Bernard Wharton
  • Cary Tamarkin & Timothy Techler
  • Billie Tsien
  • Anthony Tsirantonakis

The theme was developed by the 1984 Young Architects + Designers Committee, which comprised past winners Ben Benedict, Daralice Donkervoet Boles, Ethelind Coblin, and Peter Wheelwright.

The jury included Emilio Ambasz, Turner Brooks, Alan Chimacoff, and James Ingo Freed.

More from past League Prize winners

LANZA Atelier lecture

Isabel Martínez Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo present their League Prize installation and other work.

Anya Sirota lecture

Sirota, a cofounder of Akoaki, makes playful contributions to public discourse through architecture.