Darren Walker

Watch the League's presentation of the 2019 President's Medal to Darren Walker, President of the Ford Foundation.

May 16, 2019

On April 9, 2019, Architectural League President Paul Lewis presented the 2019 President’s Medal to Darren Walker, President of the Ford Foundation. The Architectural League honored Darren Walker as a patron, client, and visionary, for his commitment to social justice, to the arts, and to the public good.

The President’s Medal is The Architectural League’s highest honor and is bestowed, at the discretion of the League’s President and Board of Directors, on individuals to recognize extraordinary achievements in architecture, urbanism, art, design, and the environment.

The Medal was presented at a gala dinner in New York. Architect and planner Vishaan ChakrabartiMaurice Cox, Director of Planning and Development for the City of Detroit; Thelma Golden, Director and Chief Curator of The Studio Museum in Harlem; along with Lewis and Rosalie Genevro, League Executive Director, celebrated Walker with remarks. Arts patron Agnes Gund served as the dinner’s honorary chair.