Beaux Arts Ball 2015: Threshold



To see photos from this event, click here.
To see a full list of sponsors and supporters, click here.

The Architectural League’s Beaux Arts Ball 2015

Friday, September 18, 2015
10:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m.

Knockdown Center
52-19 Flushing Avenue
Maspeth, Queens

Installations by:
Alibi Studio, Catie Newell
MODU, Phu Hoang and Rachely Rotem with interactive consulting by Eric Forman
Moorhead & Moorhead, Granger Moorhead and Robert Moorhead

Music by pazel
Graphics by Pentagram

Drinks and Light Fare


A benefit for the programs of The Architectural League

Gather on Friday, September 18, for Threshold, the 2015 Architectural League Beaux Arts Ball at the Knockdown Center, a former doorframe factory turned artist/performance space in Queens. This year’s theme, Threshold, celebrates the building’s specific industrial history, while nodding to the Ball as a kick-off to the cultural year, not only for The Architectural League, but for the entire New York design community. Inside the restored factory’s 50,000 square foot, 40-foot high spaces, the design teams of Alibi Studio, MODU, and Moorhead & Moorhead will create site-specific “threshold” installations.

Vishaan Chakrabarti and Maria Alataris

Beaux Arts Ball Event Committee
Sarah Berman, Jared Della Valle, Alexander P. Lamis, Nadia Meratla, Nat Oppenheimer, Elisa Orlanski Ours, Bradley Samuels, Dan Shannon, and Billie Tsien

Event Organization
Nicholas Anderson

The League gratefully acknowledges the sponsors of the 2015 Beaux Arts Ball

SHoP Architects

Corcoran Sunshine Marketing Group
Kohn Pedersen Fox
Xhema Construction

ABC Worldwide Stone
Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners
BKSK Architects
BuroHappold Engineering
Cooper Robertson
Diller Scofidio + Renfro
Duratherm Window Corporation
Edison Properties
Ennead Architects
Fisher Marantz Stone
Gilsanz Murray Steficek Engineers and Architects
Gluckman Tang
HMA2 architects
Ken Smith Workshop
Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel
Lally Acoustical Consulting

Liora Manné
Michael A. Manfredi and Marion Weiss
Pei Cobb Freed & Partners Architects
Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
Susan Rodriguez and Charles Lowrey
Rogers Partners Architects
Sage and Coombe Architects
Shawmut Design and Construction
SITU Studio
Slade Architecture
SPAN Architecture
Spiritos Properties
Sub-Zero Wolf
Sweeney & Conroy
Tishman Construction, an AECOM Company
Toshiko Mori Architect
Walker Zanger
WXY Architecture + Urban Design
Zubatkin Owner Representation

Supporting Media Partners

The Architect’s Newspaper

ARC_BAB2015_sponsors_visionary_538 ARC_BAB2015_sponsors_sustainers_538



Beer Partner


Transportation Partner



Beaux Arts Ball 2015 Benefit Committee
Richard T. Anderson
Amale Andraos and Dan Wood
Andrew Bast
Andrew Berman and Silvia Spagnoli Berman
Sarah Berman
Andy and Nicole Bernheimer
Stella Betts and David Leven
Michael Bierut
James Biber
Keith Birden
Adrienne and Robert Birnbaum
Frederick Bland
Kevin Bone
Anthony Borelli
Louise Braverman
Alissa Bucher and Rob Rogers
Eric Bunge and Mimi Hoang
Mary Burnham
Sara Caples and Everardo Jefferson
Abigail Carlen
Stephen Cassell
John Cetra
Vishaan Chakrabati and Maria Alataris
Walter and Mary Chatham
Betty Chen and Peter Coombe
Andrew Ciancia
Donald Clinton
Brad Cloepfil and Lisa Strausfeld
Jim Conroy
Craig Copeland
Fred Corrado
Kevin Coughlin
Fiona Cousins
Sharon Davis
Michael Delacey
Jared Della Valle
Elizabeth Diller and Ricardo Scofidio
Timothy Downing
Kenneth Drucker
Craig Dykers and Elaine Molinar
Nathan Elbogen
Karen Fairbanks and Scott Marble
Mark Ferguson
Martin Finio and Taryn Christoff
Belmont Freeman
Michael Freliech
Carl Galioto
Timur Galen and Linda Genereux
Denzil Gallagher
Richard Garber and Nicole Robertson
Eric A. Gartner
Douglas Gauthier and Katherine Keltner
Ramon Gilsanz
Pier Giorgetti
Peter Gluck
Richard Gluckman
Stephanie Goto
Sara Grant
Morgan Hare
Guido Hartray
Paul Haydon
Thierry Herbert
Karen Heyman
Leslie W. Himmel
Steven Holl
Tracey Hummer
Wendy Evans Joseph and Jeffrey Ravetch
Harry Kendall
Roy Kim
Alex Klatskin
Simon Koster
Joan Krevlin
Joseph Kusnick
Emily and Jonathan Lally
Alexander P. Lamis
Armand LeGardeur and Rosalie Genevro
Chris Leong
Dominic Leong
George Leventis
Kenneth Levien
Joe Levine
Susan Grant Lewin
David J. Lewis
Paul Lewis and Kim Yao
Brent Linden
Frank Lupo and Mimi Taft
Michael A. Manfredi and Marion Weiss
Liora Manné
Grant F. Marani and Anne Rieselbach

Paul Marantz
Ambar Margarida
Jonathan Marvel
John McDonough
Cathleen McGuigan and David Berridge
Nadia Meratla
Steve Meringhoff
George Miller
Joseph Mizzi
Anthony Montalto
Jeff Moore
Toshiko Mori
Stephen Moser and Catherine Crocker
Jeffrey Murphy
Philip Murray
Henry Myerberg
Jean-Gabriel Neukomm
Enrique Norten
Nat Oppenheimer
Nick Ord
Robin Elmslie Osler
Elisa Orlanksi Ours and Mark Ours
Ed Parker
Gregg Pasquarelli and Kim Holden
Mark Petrino
Jean and Tom Phifer
AJ Pires
David Piscuskas
James Power
Mahadev Raman
Todd Rechler
Charles Renfro
Lyn Rice and Astrid Lipka
Juergen Riehm
Mark Robbins and Brett Seamans
Susan Rodriguez and Charles Lowrey
Adam Rolston
Nancy J. Ruddy
Drew Rust
Jennifer Sage
Paul Schulhof
Craig Schwitter
Annabelle Selldorf
Oscar Shamamian
Corie and Bill Sharples
Chris Sharples and Anna Dyson
Dan Shannon
Michael Sillerman
Hayes Slade and James Slade
David Smiley and Lauren Kogod
Jane Smith
Ken Smith and Priscilla McGeehon
Sylvia Smith
Lissa So
Michael J. and Sandra D. Soltoff
Frank Sorrentino
Jeff Spiritos
Andrea Steele
Karen Stein
Michael Stern
Robert A.M. Stern
Christopher Stoddard
Charles G. Stone, II
Karen Stonely and Peter Pelsinski
Drew Stuart
Sean Sweeney
Michael Szivos
Dana Tang
Shawn Taylor
Jonathan Tibett
Brian Towers
Adam Trojanowski
Calvin Tsao and Zack McKown
Marc Tsurumaki
Marc Turkel
Lyndsey Belle Tyler
Tucker Viemeister
James von Klemperer
Claire Weisz and Mark Yoes
Gregory Wessner
Tod Williams and Billie Tsien
Stacie Wong
Adam Yarinsky
Mike Zaborski
Jonathan Zanger
Martin Zubatkin