Dan Adams and Marie Adams

Click for more images, Landing Studio, LUMEN

League Prize 2015: Authenticity
Dan Adams and Marie Adams
Landing Studio
Somerville, MA

Dan Adams and Marie Adams founded Somerville, Massachusetts-based Landing Studio in 2005. The studio describes its focus as “developing design tactics for positively integrating active global industries and infrastructures into their local contexts.” The studio’s clients and projects include port facilities, headquarters buildings, demolition plans, shared industrial/public park landscapes, ocean transport, and mining operations worldwide.

Ongoing projects include Infra-Space 1, which turns space beneath an elevated highway in Boston into parking, green space, and stormwater management; the Rock Chapel Marine Headquarters Building in Chelsea, MA; and an installation for the Design Biennial Boston. Past projects include P.O.R.T. (Publicly Organized/Privately Owned, Recreation Territory), a waterfront public event space and park in a maritime industrial dock at Rock Chapel Marine in Chelsea, MA; OIL TANK FUTURES PROJECTIONS: TREES/GIANTS/GOODBYE, an installation in Chelsea, MA; and the design of a temporary light festival on an active industrial salt dock for the LUMEN film festival with Staten Island Arts.

Landing Studio’s project 99 Marginal was exhibited at the MIT Keller Gallery in 2013. They received the Design Biennial Boston Award in 2015. Dan Adams won an AIA Henry Adams Medal from the Harvard Graduate School of Design (GSD) in 2005 and Marie Adams won an AIA Medal from MIT in 2006. Dan Adams also received the James Templeton Kelley Thesis Prize from the GSD in 2005.

Dan Adams received a B.S. in Architecture from the University of Michigan and a M. Arch from the GSD. Marie Adams received a B.S. in Architecture at the University of Michigan and a M.Arch from Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Visit the 2015 League Prize feature for more information about this year’s winners, the theme of Authenticity, lectures, and exhibition information. See the complete list of past winners here.