Beaux Arts Ball 2014: Craft



To see photos from this event, click here.

Beaux Arts Ball 2014

Saturday, September 20, 2014
9:30 p.m. to 1:30 a.m.

Weylin B. Seymour’s
175 Broadway

Williamsburg, Brooklyn 

Projection installation created by Nuit Blanche New York (NBNY)
With content developed by 2×4, The Bittertang Farm, CASE, INABA, Jenny Sabin Studio, LAB at Rockwell Group, Norman Kelley, and PellOverton Architects
Music by pazel
Graphics by Pentagram

Drinks and dessert
Festive dress


A benefit for the programs of The Architectural League

SOLD OUT—Tickets for the Beaux Arts Ball are sold out. If you have any general questions about the event, please email Matt Ragazzo here or call 212.753.1722 x10. For questions about ticket orders, please email Nicholas Anderson here or call 212.753.1722 x14. Tickets will not be available at the door.


In 1875, George B. Post and Peter B. Wight designed a Williamsburgh Savings Bank in Brooklyn with exquisite interior decorations of tiling and mosaics, patterned wallpapers, frescoed domes, carved wood and stone, and bronze and gilt work. After years of decay and decline, the building has been magnificently restored. Craft, the theme of this year’s Beaux Arts Ball, celebrates the importance of artisanship and the concert of allied disciplines in creating great works of architecture. The building’s interiors will serve as inspiration for nine architects and designers, who with Nuit Blanche New York will project digital interpretations of its motifs and details, celebrating the craft and art of architecture.

For a history of the Williamsburgh Savings Bank building and an ongoing series of interviews with the artisans, consultants, and designers involved in the restoration, click here.


Rachel Judlowe, Joseph Mizzi, Billie Tsien, and Tod Williams

Beaux Arts Ball Event Committee
Sarah Berman, Jared Della Valle, Joseph Kusnick, Alexander Lamis, Nadia Meratla, Elisa Orlanski Ours, David Pfeffer, and Alison Spear

The League gratefully acknowledges the sponsors of the 2014 Beaux Arts Ball

A.E. Greyson General Contractor
Corcoran Sunshine Marketing Group
Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates
Selldorf Architects
SHoP Architects

1100 Architect
ABC Worldwide Stone
Allied Works Architecture
The Architect’s Newspaper
Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners
BuroHappold Engineering
Sharon Davis
Erica and Anand Desai
Duratherm Window Corporation
Ennead Architects
Fisher Marantz Stone
Guy Nordenson and Associates

Liora Manné
Moed de Armas & Shannon Architects
Monadnock Construction
The PAR Group
Pei Cobb Freed & Partners
Prutting & Company Custom Builders
Robert Silman Associates
Susan Rodriguez and Charles Lowrey
Rogers Partners
Severud Associates Consulting Engineers
SilverLining Interiors
SPAN Architecture
Sub-Zero Wolf
Susan Grant Lewin Associates
Toshiko Mori Architect
WXY Architecture + Urban Design

Beer generously provided by


Transportation partner

For information about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Nicholas Anderson, at 212-753-1722, ext. 14, or email


Benefit Committee
Richard T. Anderson
Amale Andraos and Dan Wood
David Benjamin
Andrew Berman
Matthew Berman
Sarah Berman
Andy and Nicole Bernheimer
David Berridge and Cathleen McGuigan
Michael Bierut
Keith Birden
Frederick Bland
Molly Blieden and Scott Pfaffman
Alissa Bucher and Rob Rogers
Sara Caples and Everardo Jefferson
Stephen Cassell
Vishaan Chakrabarti
Walter and Mary Chatham
Betty Chen and Peter Coombe
Susan Chin and Charles McKinney
Taryn Christoff and Martin Finio
Andrew J. Ciancia
Brad Cloepfil and Lisa Strausfeld
Arthur Cohen
Alexander Cooper
Kevin Coughlin
Fiona Cousins
Amanda Dameron
Diana Darling
Alex Davidkhanian
Cheryl L. Davis
Sharon Davis
Jared Della Valle
Erica Desai
Michelle DiLello
Elizabeth Diller and Ricardo Scofidio
Cheryl Dixon
Timothy Downing
Susannah Drake
Eli Drebin
Kenneth Drucker
Craig Dykers and Elaine Molinar
Martin and Rebecca Eisenberg
Brian A. Falconer
Beth and Michael Fascitelli
Danny Forster
Belmont Freeman
Denzil Gallagher
Mark Gardner
Rosalie Genevro and Armand LeGardeur
Leslie Gill
Alan Gordon
Stephanie Goto
Lisa J. Green
Maxine Griffith
Jennifer Hanlin and Chris Cooper
Jens Peter Hansen
Hugh Hardy
Morgan Hare
Guido Hartray and Irina Verona
Paul Haydon
Louis Hedgecock
Alexandra and Paul Herzan
Karen Heyman
Tracey Hummer
Stephan Jaklitsch
Barbara Jakobson
Donald Jayson
Steven Jayson
Wendy Evans Joseph and Jeffrey Ravetch
Rachel and Mike Judlowe
Steven Jureller
Katherine Keltner and Douglas Gauthier
Kelly Kennedy Mack
Erin and Alex Klatskin
Andrew Kotchen
Joseph Kusnick
Alexander P. Lamis
Nicholas Lembo
Carmen Lenzi and Marc Tsurumaki
David Leven and Stella Betts
Susan Grant Lewin
George E. Leventis
David and Kim Levine
David J. Lewis
Paul Lewis and Kim Yao
Astrid Lipka and Lyn Rice
Aleksey Lukyanov-Cherny
Jonathan Mallie
Michael A. Manfredi and Marion Weiss
Liora Manné
Grant Marani and Anne Rieselbach
Paul Marantz
Scott Marble and Karen Fairbanks
Antonio Marinoni
Deborah Marton

Jonathan Marvel
John McDonough
Enda McIntyre
Zack McKown
Eric McLaughlin
Chris McVoy and Beth O’Neill
William Menking
Nadia Meratla
Carl Tim Milam
George Miller
Joseph Mizzi
Andrea Monfried
Toshiko Mori
Stephen Moser and Catherine Crocker
Peter and Melanie Mullan
Jeffrey Murphy and Katherine Dillon
Steven J. Najarian
Jean-Gabriel Neukomm
Margaret Newman
Bruce Nichol
Krista Ninivaggi and William Prince
Guy Nordenson
Enrique Norten
Liz O’Connor
Michela O’Connor Abrams
Nat Oppenheimer and Karen Frome
Nick Ord
Robin Elmslie Osler
Erich Oswald
Elisa and Mark Ours
Gregg Pasquarelli and Kimberly Holden
Maxwell Pau
Rafael Pelli
Carlos Perez San Martin
Mark Petrino
David J. Pfeffer
Jeannie and Thomas Phifer
William Jack T. Phillips
AJ Pires
Emma Price
David and Deborah Prutting
Na Min Ra
Mahadev Raman
Nancy Rankin
Peter Reed
Keith Reinhard
Charles Renfro
Juergen Riehm
Tod Rittenhouse
Mark Robbins and Brett Seamans
Nicole Robertson and Richard Garber
Susan Rodriguez and Charles Lowrey
Wes Rozen
Jennifer Sage
Craig Schwitter
Annabelle Selldorf
Paul Schulhof
Andrew J. Sebor
Daniel P. Shannon and Lillian Jagendorf
Christopher Sharples
William and Coren Sharples
James Slade and Hayes Slade
Kathryn Slocum and Rob Goodwin
David Smiley and Lauren Kogod
Ken Smith and Priscilla McGeehon
Sylvia Smith
Lissa So
Galia Solomonoff
Tricia Solsaa
Michael and Sandra Soltoff
Michael Sorkin and Joan Copjec
Frank Sorrentino
Karen Stein
Robert A.M. Stern
Karen Stonely and Peter Pelsinski
Charles G. Stone II
Margaret Sullivan
Mimi Taft and Frank Lupo
Jonathan Tibett
Steven Toia
Joe Tortorella
Adam Trojanowski
Calvin Tsao
Marc Turkel
Lyndsey Belle Tyler
Tucker Viemeister
James von Klemperer
Shawn Watts
Claire Weisz and Mark Yoes
Gregory Wessner
Joshua Wiener
Tod Williams and Billie Tsien
Stephen Yablon and Suzanne Nutt
Noah Yaffe and Kathrine Meyers
Adam Yarinsky