Beaux Arts Ball 2013: –ism


To see photos from this event, click here.

Beaux Arts Ball 2013: –ism
69th Regiment Armory

Environment by SITU STUDIO
Performance Installation by Processional Arts Workshop
Lighting Design and Installation by Renfro Design Group

Music and Sound Installation by Nathan Halpern (with Mary Lattimore and Chris Ruggiero)
DJ Set by Jon Santos


In 1913, an art exhibition opened in New York City that shocked the country, shattered perceptions of beauty, and shifted the American cultural landscape forever. “The International Exhibition of Modern Art” became known simply and infamously as “The Armory Show,” after its venue­, the 69th Regiment Armory on Lexington Avenue. It was a show of clashing and competing “–isms:” Cubism, Modernism, Realism, Futurism, Fauvism…

On September 28, 2013, The Architectural League of New York celebrated the centennial of this historic event with a spectacular party in the same space. For one night, an architectural installation, processional performance, and original music coalesced in a highly charged and evocative environment to transform the Lexington Avenue Armory once again.


Beaux Arts Ball Sponsorship Committee

Rachel Judlowe, Joseph Mizzi, co-chairs; Gretchen Bank, Deborah Goodman Davis, Jared Della Valle, Lisa Green, David Pfeffer, Peter Pelsinski, Alexandra Polier, Peter Schubert, Alison Spear, and Karen Stonely.

The League gratefully acknowledges the sponsors of the 2013 Beaux Arts Ball


Alloy Development
Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates (KPF)
SHoP Architects



Alchemy Properties
Allied Works Architecture
The Armory Show
Best & Company
Buro Happold
David Zwirner
Diller Scofidio + Renfro
Edison Properties
Guy Nordenson and Associates
Frances Halsband and Robert Kliment
J.F. Roesemann Builders
Lally Acoustical Consulting
Levien & Company
Michael Werner Gallery
Moed de Armas & Shannon
Monadnock Construction
Nemo Tile Company
Newmark Grubb Knight Frank
The PAR Group
Jeannie and Thomas Phifer
R 20th Century
RD Rice Construction
Renfro Design Group
Susan Rodriguez and Charles Lowrey
Peter and Susan Schubert
Shaw Contract Group
SilverLining Interiors
Sotheby’s International Realty
SPAN Architecture
Alison Spear and Alex Reese
Town & Country Flooring
Zubatkin Owner Representation

Supporting Media Partners

The Architect’s Newspaper
Metropolis Magazine

Furniture courtesy of Kartell

Projection Design by Luke Taylor & Zach Shepard

Lighting Equipment donated by Electric Lighting Agency and the School of Constructed Environments at Parsons The New School for Design

Beer generously provided by Captain Lawrence Brewing Company

Logo-Footer-9.10-538x167 copy

For information about corporate sponsorship opportunities, please contact Kathryn Slocum, at 212-753-1722, ext. 21 or email


Benefit Committee Co-chairs

Annabelle Selldorf and Tom Outerbridge

Benefit Committee

Amale Andraos and Dan Wood
Ate Atema and Angela Sun
Andrew and Nicole Bernheimer
Michael Bierut and Dorothy Kresz
Alissa Bucher and Rob Rogers
Stephen Cassell, Architecture Research Office
Vishaan Chakrabarti and Maria Alataris
Betty Chen
Taryn Christoff and Martin Finio
Brad Cloepfil and Lisa Strausfeld
Arthur Cohen
Chris Cooper, Cooper Joseph Studio
Deborah Goodman Davis and Gerald Davis
Jared and Carolina Della Valle
Susannah C. Drake
Martha Eddy and Blake Middleton
Ennead Architects
Karen Fairbanks and Scott Marble
Forsgate Industrial Partners
Belmont Freeman
Denzil Gallagher, Buro Happold
Richard Garber and Nicole Robertson
Mark Gardner, J/GA
Jeanne Giordano
Pier Giorgetti
Rob Goodwin, Perkins + Will
Lisa Green and Bill Dacey
Maxine Griffith
Frances Halsband and Robert Kliment
Penny Hardy and Granger Moorhead
Karen Heyman
Steve Hogden, Ryan Associates
Stephan Jaklitsch, J/GA
Wendy Evans Joseph, Cooper Joseph Studio
Rachel and Mike Judlowe
Paul Katz
Ken Smith Landscape Architect
Andre Kikoski
Armand LeGardeur and Rosalie Genevro
Jill Lerner
Lewis.Tsurumaki.Lewis Architects
James F. Lima
Astrid Lipka and Lyn Rice
Jonathan and Carrie Mallie
Michael A. Manfredi and Marion Weiss
Grant Marani and Anne Rieselbach
Marvel Architects
Jamie Maslyn Larson, West 8
David Maupin and Stefano Tonchi
Zesty Meyers and Evan Snyderman, R 20th Century
Joseph Mizzi
Andrea Monfried and Mike Harshman
Peter and Melanie Mullan
Jean-Gabriel Neukomm
Krista Ninivaggi and William Prince
Guy Nordenson and Catherine Seavitt
Nat Oppenheimer and Karen Frome
Franco Pagano, Ryan Associates
Gregg Pasquarelli and Kimberly Holden
Jeannie and Thomas Phifer
David Pfeffer
Alexandra Polier
Mahadev Raman
Charles Renfro
R. Douglass Rice
Mark Robbins and Brett Seamans
Susan Rodriguez and Charles Lowrey
Adam Rolston
Sage and Coombe Architects
Peter and Susan Schubert
Chris Sharples and Anna Dyson
William and Corie Sharples
Paul Schulhof
Craig Schwitter, Buro Happold
Dan Shannon
Hayes Slade and James Slade, Slade Architecture
David Smiley and Lauren Kogod
Sylvia J. Smith, FXFOWLE Architects
Alison Spear and Alex Reese
Marcy Stanley, Weidlinger Associates
Karen Stein
Karen Stonely and Peter Pelsinski
Drew Stuart
Margaret Sullivan
Mimi Taft and Frank Lupo
Ali Tayar
Toshiko Mori Architect
Calvin Tsao
Gordon VeneKlasen
James von Klemperer
Claire Weisz and Mark Yoes
Gregory Wessner
Tod Williams and Billie Tsien
Mark and Carol Willis
Kim Yao, Architecture Research Office
Zubatkin Owner Representation

SITU STUDIO is a Brooklyn-based architectural design practice that engages in experimental work in a variety of media. A core commitment to material investigation as well as research and writing allows for the studio to develop flexible and multifaceted strategies to approach spatial problems. This dual emphasis enables the studio’s design process to oscillate between the virtual and physical realms at all stages of a project’s development. Recently completed projects by the studio include: Heartwalk, a public art installation for Times Square, Hava Nagila: A Song for the People, an exhibition at the Museum of Jewish Heritage, and reOrder, an architectural installation at the Brooklyn Museum.

Processional Arts Workshop (PAW), led by artists Alex Kahn and Sophia Michahelles, creates site-specific performances and Carnivalesque events worldwide. PAW’s projects engage hundreds of volunteers, at every stage of production, integrating pageant puppetry, mobile architecture, and illuminated structures. Recently, they have designed and directed performances for the PEN World Voices Festival on the High Line, Morningside Lights at Columbia University, Socrates Sculpture Park, and as master puppeteers for New York’s Village Halloween Parade. Globally they have collaborated with communities in Kiev, Istanbul, rural Italy, Trinidad, and many other locales.

Nathan Halpern is a composer and singer/songwriter from New York City. He has composed the original scores for such films as the Peabody Award-winning/Emmy-nominated Marina Abramović: The Artist Is Present (HBO Films) and Robert Redford’s Primetime Emmy-nominated All the President’s Men Revisited (Discovery). For this project, he is collaborating with harpist Mary Lattimore and multi-instrumentalist/producer Chris Ruggiero.

Jon Santos is an artist living and working in New York City. He works in video, sound, performance, and sculpture. Recent performances/projects include Telegraph at Storefront for Art and Architecture Gala, The Last Weekend with Peter Coffin, and Social Mirroring at the New Museum. Santos is an adjunct faculty member at Pratt Institute, and the principal of Common Space, a multidisciplinary design studio based in New York.