League Prize winner

feminist architecture collaborative (f-architecture)

f-architecture | Cosmo-Clinical Interiors of Beirut, Vi Per Gallery, Prague, 2018-19. Image credit: Peter Farbo. Courtesy of Vi Per Gallery.

The League Prize is an annual competition that has been organized by The Architectural League since 1981. Open to designers ten years or less out of school, it draws entrants from around North America.

Virginia Black, Gabrielle Printz, and Rosana Elkhatib of feminist architecture collaborative won a 2019 award.

Virginia Black, Gabrielle Printz, and Rosana Elkhatib founded New York-based feminist architecture collaborative in 2016. Self-described as “a three-woman architectural research enterprise aimed at disentangling the contemporary spatial politics and technological appearances of bodies, intimately and globally,” the collaborative works with temporary installations, exhibitions, performance, activism, writing, and research-based projects.

Recent projects include:

Black holds a BA in architecture from Clemson University and an MArch from the University of Michigan.

Printz received a BA from Canisius College and an MArch from the State University of New York at Buffalo.

Elkhatib holds a BArch from the Illinois Institute of Technology.

The three of them received an MS in Critical, Curatorial, and Conceptual Practices in Architecture from Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation in 2016.

Learn more: