President’s Medal Dinner

Join us to celebrate 2023 President’s Medal honoree Rosalie Genevro.

May 23, 2023

The President’s Medal is The Architectural League’s highest honor and is bestowed, at the discretion of the League’s President and Board of Directors, on individuals to recognize extraordinary achievements in architecture, urbanism, art, design, and the environment.

Mario Gooden, President
Michael Bierut, Quilian Riano, and Billie Tsien, co-chairs

invite you to join them to celebrate the presentation of the President’s Medal of The Architectural League to Rosalie Genevro

Remarks by
Michael Bierut
Mario Gooden
Paul Lewis
Quilian Riano
Annabelle Selldorf
Billie Tsien

Presentation of the Medal by
Mario Gooden

Rosalie Genevro

In her 38 years as executive director of The Architectural League, Rosalie Genevro has been a champion of architecture as a vital form of creative and intellectual inquiry, with a committed focus on design ethics, spatial justice, and architecture’s role in shaping our common future. Through groundbreaking exhibitions, publications, and design studies, she has created myriad opportunities for architects to reimagine the discipline and its contributions to the public realm and an inclusive society. All the while, she has worked to strengthen the League as a local and global community bringing together students and internationally recognized architects alike, alongside activists, writers, city planners, graphic designers, and artists. Rosalie will step down as executive director at the end of June 2023.

President’s Medal Dinner Benefit Committee


Bloomberg Philanthropies
Mary and Brad Burnham
Columbia GSAPP
Diller Scofidio + Renfro
Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown
Leroy Street Studio
Thom Mayne & Blythe Alison-Mayne

Practice for Architecture and Urbanism | PAU
Susan T. Rodriguez and Charles Lowrey
Sciame Construction, LLC
Selldorf Architects
Vital City


ABC Stone
Anthony Ames
Armand LeGardeur Architect
The Bernard & Anne Spitzer School of Architecture of The City College of New York
Alissa Bucher and Rob Rogers
Amanda M. Burden
Buro Happold
Mary and Walter Chatham
Department of Architectural Technology at the New York City College of Technology / CUNY
Fogarty Finger
Gray Organschi Architecture
Agnes Gund
Frances Halsband
Handel Architects
Alexandra and Paul Herzan
James Corner Field Operations
Mary Margaret Jones, Hargreaves Jones
Rachel and Mike Judlowe
Ken Smith Workshop

Hank Koning and Julie Eizenberg
Eric S. Lee
Carol Loewenson
LTL Architects
MA | Morris Adjmi Architects
Magnusson Architecture and Planning
Michael A. Manfredi & Marion Weiss
MdeAS Architects
Paratus Group
Pelli Clarke & Partners
Jeannie and Thomas Phifer
Mark Robbins & David Ballantine
Rockwell Group
Philip Ryan and Anna Vallye
Sage and Coombe Architects
Silman, a TYLin Company
Studio Joseph
Alan Wanzenberg
Regina Wickham and Grahame Shane
Barbara Wilks
Carol and Mark Willis
WXY architecture + urban design

Explore past President's Medal events

July 21, 2021

Walter Hood

On July 21, 2021, the League presented its President's Medal to Walter Hood.

June 1, 2020

Andrew Freear

On June 1, 2020, the League presented its President's Medal to Andrew Freear.

April 9, 2019

Darren Walker

On April 9, 2019, the League presented its President's Medal to Darren Walker.

June 20, 2018

Christiana Figueres

On June 20, 2018, the League presented its President's Medal to Christiana Figueres.