Olalekan Jeyifous and PORT

March 5, 2020
7:00 p.m.

Right: PORT | Oval+ 2018, Philadelphia, PA, 2018. Credit: Courtesy PORT. Left: Olalekan Jeyifous | Protest!, Cleveland, OH, 2018. Credit: Bob Perkoski.

The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices program spotlights North American architects, landscape architects, and urban designers who have significant bodies of realized work and the potential to influence their field.

Join us for lectures by two 2020 Emerging Voices.

Olalekan Jeyifous’s multidisciplinary design practice explores notions of place, positioning the concept as continuously constructed rather than given or imagined. Using “borrowed or invented narratives,” Jeyifous examines architecture’s relationship to community and environment through speculative proposals that raise critical questions and open new channels of dialogue. His work spans a diverse range of media, including hand-drawn sketches, technical illustrations, photomontage, animation, public sculpture, and virtual reality experiences.

Chicago- and Philadelphia-based firm PORT was founded in 2013 by Christopher Marcinkoski and Andrew Moddrell. The public realm and urban design consultancy is guided by the notion that the public realm is the “closest thing we have to equitable and democratic space in the contemporary city.” Their design projects seek to transform neglected and forgotten spaces within cities, and the firm also provides strategy development for the management of large, complex territories.

Introduction by Mario Gooden, an associate professor at Columbia GSAPP and principal at Huff + Gooden Architects.


Emerging Voices is generously supported by Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown. The Emerging Voices program is also supported by the Next Generation Fund of The Architectural League. Architectural League programs are additionally supported, in part, by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.